Arcane Talent feat question


Rules Questions


APG, p151

Can this feat be taken more than once?

If so, does the PC have to select a new cantrip or can she double her daily uses of the chosen cantrip?

Does the PC now meet "must be Caster Level #" (where # <= PC's character level) prerequisite for other feats, prestige classes, and the like?

Assuming the PC is a spellcaster of some sort, can the PC spend class levels to apply a metamagic feat to the cantrip selected by the Talent?

Assuming the PC is *NOT* a spellcaster of some sort, can he apply metamagic feats to the cantrip if the metamagic feat does not raise the spell-slot needed to cast? (Either because the metamagic feat doesn't raise the spell-slot required (Merciful Spell, APG, p165) or because the PC has the Magical Lineage trait (APG, p329).)


Doc_Outlands wrote:

APG, p151

Can this feat be taken more than once?

If so, does the PC have to select a new cantrip or can she double her daily uses of the chosen cantrip?

Does the PC now meet "must be Caster Level #" (where # <= PC's character level) prerequisite for other feats, prestige classes, and the like?

Assuming the PC is a spellcaster of some sort, can the PC spend class levels to apply a metamagic feat to the cantrip selected by the Talent?

Assuming the PC is *NOT* a spellcaster of some sort, can he apply metamagic feats to the cantrip if the metamagic feat does not raise the spell-slot needed to cast? (Either because the metamagic feat doesn't raise the spell-slot required (Merciful Spell, APG, p165) or because the PC has the Magical Lineage trait (APG, p329).)

Feats that can be taken more than once always say so.

No the feat does not make you into a caster. When a creature , drow as an example, have caster levels then their HD is what determines their caster levels. In the case of this feat your HD is still determining your caster level for the purpose of that ability only.

Metamagic feats don't apply to SLA's. There are monster feats that affect SLA's in the same way that metamagic feats affect spells but you would have to qualify for them.


I completely agree!


Fair enough - the fact it was specifically called out as an SLA didn't register. So that means no pairing up Arcane Talent with Arcane Strike (Core, p118)?


Doc_Outlands wrote:
Fair enough - the fact it was specifically called out as an SLA didn't register. So that means no pairing up Arcane Talent with Arcane Strike (Core, p118)?

Correct. They don't work together.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcane Talent feat question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions