Word of Recall


Rules Questions


Have a couple questions about this spell...

Quote:

Word of recall teleports you instantly back to your sanctuary when the word is uttered. You must designate the sanctuary when you prepare the spell, and it must be a very familiar place. The actual point of arrival is a designated area no larger than 10 feet by 10 feet. You can be transported any distance within a plane but cannot travel between planes. You can transport, in addition to yourself, any objects you carry, as long as their weight doesn't exceed your maximum load. You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature (carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load) or its equivalent per three caster levels. A Large creature counts as two Medium creatures, a Huge creature counts as two Large creatures, and so forth. All creatures to be transported must be in contact with one another, and at least one of those creatures must be in contact with you. Exceeding this limit causes the spell to fail.

An unwilling creature can't be teleported by word of recall. Likewise, a creature's Will save (or spell resistance) prevents items in its possession from being teleported. Unattended, nonmagical objects receive no saving throw.

Q1) It seems like the sanctuary can be anywhere, as long as it is a very familiar place. You don't need to be at the sanctuary when you prepare the spell, right? You just need to choose it during preparation. So, you can be on Continent B but select a sanctuary on Continent A when you prepare the spell, and when you cast the spell, you get sent to the sanctuary on Continent A (and cannot change the location after prep).

Q2) What is up with the 10 ft x 10 ft area (4 squares)? Does this mean that a Huge caster (15x15) cannot use this spell? And this area is only for the caster, right? For example, a Medium Cleric with 4 Medium friends or 1 Large friend would take up 5 squares. Are these scenarios okay for this spell?

The Exchange

A1) Correct! Ask your DM for what, exactly, consitutes 'very familiar'.

A2) Creature spaces on the grid are actually 'fighting spaces' - enough space to both stand and swing a proverbial cat. You can physically fit a lot more creatures into such a space, when needed - they just can't fight like that. So both the 10ft x 10ft and maximum number of passangers limits apply at the same time.


I don't think the 10'x10' restriction is intended to limit the size of the 'recallee', but is instead designed so that the spellcaster does not designate "The Royal Palace", or "The Waterfront District of Puzuzu City" (either of which he could be 'very familiar' with).

Instead, the caster has to designate a very specific spot when preparing the spell.

Paizo did a fair amount of 'abuse reduction' on spells when they ported them over; this looks like an example of that

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Word of Recall All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions