Outsider corpses?


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


Under what conditions does an outsider leave a corpse? Only when killed on its home plane? On any plane? Only if called or present by planar travel and not if summoned? Is any core material clear on this?


Umbral Reaver wrote:
Under what conditions does an outsider leave a corpse? Only when killed on its home plane? On any plane? Only if called or present by planar travel and not if summoned? Is any core material clear on this?

I believe the planar ally and binding lines leave corpses also.


I'd have to agree with Rathendar.

The corpse is merely the vessel in which the Outsider temporarily resides.


I am guessing it is DM's call, there are no rules on it, except that a summoned creature does not leave a corpse.
Personally I have most outsiders die dramatically in a burst of flame or quickly decay and transform into a pool of acidic goo. Inspired by fiendish codex I, hordes of the abyss, in the case of demons it was assumed that they rarely left corpses, but sometimes they do.

Besides dramatics I rule that way because I do not want to see animated fiends and the like, both for too much bang for an animate dead spell (they generally have high attackpower for their HD) and not liking to have dramtic npc/monster fiends/outsiders being subjected to mundane animation.

Liberty's Edge

Under what conditions does an outsider leave a corpse?

AFAIK:
1) when killed on its home plane
2) when killed on any other plane after being called (by the use of a planar binding spell, gate or other similar spell)
3) when he has got to the plane by plane shift or other similar spells or through planar gates (for example the demons coming to golarion through the Worldwound).

If killed in one of the above situations he leave a corpse, loot and can't revived by conventional means but only by Wish, Limited wish, Miracle or True resurrection.

Some of the stronger outsider get automatically reincarnated in the same or weaker form after being killed (at least I think it apply to Golarion, but it can be a legacy rule).

Silver Crusade

Really do prefer it as a case-by-case basis. Lilends turn to mist, dretches turn to slimy goo and skittering roaches, genies leave behind bits of their elemental components, high level devils/demons/angels burst into their component souls that fly off in all directions before disappearing. Stuff like that.


Remco Sommeling wrote:
... except that a summoned creature does not leave a corpse...

Can you point me in the direction of this rule in the Core book?

Just recently, my players encountered a roper that was way out of their league. He, by module definition, wasn't very hungry, but wanted a tasty snack other than fish. (Some of you may remember this encounter.)

The party began fighting, and the cleric summoned a wolf. Subsequently, the roper snagged and devoured the wolf, satiating his want for a snack, ending the encounter.

I just can't see the wolf suddenly vanishing from the belly of the roper.

A reference would be appreciated.

EDIT: Okay, I see on page 210 of the Core Rulebook that if the spell expires, it vanishes. That's a given.

Then ... 'A summoned creature also goes away if it is killed or if its hit points drop to 0 or lower, but it is not really dead. It takes 24 hours for the creature to reform, during which time it can’t be summoned again.'

Goes away?

Odd wording that is.

Liberty's Edge

Noah Fentz wrote:


EDIT: Okay, I see on page 210 of the Core Rulebook that if the spell expires, it vanishes. That's a given.

Then ... 'A summoned creature also goes away if it is killed or if its hit points drop to 0 or lower, but it is not really dead. It takes 24 hours for the creature to reform, during which time it can’t be summoned again.'

Goes away?

Odd wording that is.

Under magic:

Quote:


Summoning: A summoning spell instantly brings a creature or object to a place you designate. When the spell ends or is dispelled, a summoned creature is instantly sent back to where it came from, but a summoned object is not sent back unless the spell description specifically indicates this. A summoned creature also goes away if it is killed or if its hit points drop to 0 or lower, but it is not really dead. It takes 24 hours for the creature to reform, during which time it can't be summoned again.

It work, approximately, as if the summoned creature was an Astral projection (the 9th level spell) of a real creature from another plane.

The summoned body is a projection of the actual creature, not the creature itself.
"Killing" will only dismiss it, it will not kill/destroy it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Outsider corpses? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.