
Captain Jacks |
I'm not sure that's a good example exactly...an intelligent item that has that particular power can cast teleport on itself, but an item that can cast a level 5 spell at will and has that spell as teleport can cast teleport as per the rules of the spell...
I'm talking about specifically casting personal spells. Like if an intelligent item had "shield" on it. Would it cast shield on itself or its wielder? or alter self? etc etc

![]() |

It's not an ideal example, but it's the only specific example in the core rulebook of an intelligent item using a Personal spell. I think there were some examples of intelligent items in the Paizo blog.
A Personal-range spell affects the caster. If the item casts the spell (all the relevant entries read "Item can cast a X-level spell..."), the item is the caster. An item that cast teleport as a spell selection could teleport itself, 0 pounds of other items, plus one willing Medium creature per 3 caster levels (at least one of whom is touching the item).

lastblacknight |
and same for Cure Light Wounds.
some items do have their own abilities which couldn't be shared.
I have an intelligent item in one of my games "it" doesn't make itself known very often but it has the capacity to do so.
e.g some weapons can only be welded by specific alignments; but may make themselves known in combat to disadvantage the actual carrier who may be wielding the item in question days later for the first time. It's a feature in several of the Drizzt books.