| tasslehoff220 |
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/m/magic-jar
Magic Jar states: Attempting to possess a body is a full-round action. It is blocked by protection from evil or a similar ward.
What happens if you are already possessed and someone casts pro evil on you? Are you still possessed? Is the spell caster forced back to the jar? Is he trapped in the body?
As an on the fly ruling so the game could progress I decided he was trapped in the body til the pro evil ended (I like the fluff of magic circles and similar spells blocking anything from getting either in or out) but I think the correct ruling would be that he is forced back to the jar. Is this correct?
thanks in advance
| Brotato |
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/m/magic-jar
Magic Jar states: Attempting to possess a body is a full-round action. It is blocked by protection from evil or a similar ward.
What happens if you are already possessed and someone casts pro evil on you? Are you still possessed? Is the spell caster forced back to the jar? Is he trapped in the body?
As an on the fly ruling so the game could progress I decided he was trapped in the body til the pro evil ended (I like the fluff of magic circles and similar spells blocking anything from getting either in or out) but I think the correct ruling would be that he is forced back to the jar. Is this correct?
thanks in advance
The possessing force wouldn't be forced out (though duration would continue to expire), but the possessed creature regains control of his body for the duration of the Prot spell.
| HaraldKlak |
Remember that by Pathfinder, the protection does not function automatically. The target only gets a new save.
If he makes the second saving throw against magic jar, then the effect of magic jar is supressed, so I like the interpretation (and believe it to be the most RAW) that he stays in the body without control.
However if I did this against a player, then I expect I would allow him to leave the body on his turn.
| Abraham spalding |
Remember that by Pathfinder, the protection does not function automatically. The target only gets a new save.
If he makes the second saving throw against magic jar, then the effect of magic jar is supressed, so I like the interpretation (and believe it to be the most RAW) that he stays in the body without control.
However if I did this against a player, then I expect I would allow him to leave the body on his turn.
To clarify... The protection is a blanket immunity if the protection spell is applied before the magic jar -- otherwise (and in the OP's situation) HaraldKlak is correct.
Tim Hitchcock
Contributor
|
Remember that by Pathfinder, the protection does not function automatically. The target only gets a new save.
If he makes the second saving throw against magic jar, then the effect of magic jar is supressed, so I like the interpretation (and believe it to be the most RAW) that he stays in the body without control.
However if I did this against a player, then I expect I would allow him to leave the body on his turn.
I like your reasoning- I'd imagine it'd be very unfun to trap a PC for a number of turns inside an opponent while the spell is suppressed. I'm pretty sure I did something similar last time this issue came up in one of my games. I'm not sure however whether I auto allowed the player to vacate or I gave them a save each round to attempt to exit while suppressed (though I suspect the latter).
| HaraldKlak |
I like your reasoning- I'd imagine it'd be very unfun to trap a PC for a number of turns inside an opponent while the spell is suppressed. I'm pretty sure I did something similar last time this issue came up in one of my games. I'm not sure however whether I auto allowed the player to vacate or I gave them a save each round to attempt to exit while suppressed (though I suspect the latter).
I think a save per round sounds a lot better. I keeps the suspense of "**** me, what am I gonna do!"
| Artemissen |
Read the spell, Protection from Evil:
This spell does not expel a controlling life force (such as a ghost or spellcaster using magic jar), but it does prevent them from controlling the target.
Read the spell, Magic Jar:
If you are successful, your life force occupies the host body, and the host’s life force is imprisoned in the magic jar.
It's pretty self-explanatory, and yes, it is automatic. The subject gets a new saving throw to return to his body. The protected body can no longer be controlled by the magic jar caster. That makes the body pretty much inert until the magic jar caster decides to return to the jar, either spell ends, or the subject makes his save.