Metamagic Reach and Familiar deliver touch spells


Rules Questions


So if your with your familiar, i.e. its on your shoulder , you cast a touch spell which is modifed by the reach spell feat can it still be applied to your familiar for delivery ? As its techincally still a "touch" spell its just been modifed.

I have this image of a bird on the casters should aiming and firing off the masters touch spells like a shoulder mounted cannon hehehe.


Phasics wrote:

So if your with your familiar, i.e. its on your shoulder , you cast a touch spell which is modifed by the reach spell feat can it still be applied to your familiar for delivery ? As its techincally still a "touch" spell its just been modifed.

I have this image of a bird on the casters should aiming and firing off the masters touch spells like a shoulder mounted cannon hehehe.

If you were doing it for fluff reason I would let it be ok as a DM.

I think by RAW the spell range actually changes so the familiar would not be able to get the spell thought

The Exchange

A touch ranged spell modified by the Reach Spell Feat is no longer a touch ranged spell - i.e. you can't 'hold the charge' on it (since that's a touch-spell related rule, rather than a specific rule for certain spells, if that makes sense). But as Wraithstrike says, if you just want to fire it through your familiar while it's in contact with you, without holding the charge (so no powering him up before battle for an extra free blast in the surprise round), then I'd guess a lot of GMs wouldn't mind the fluff.


ProfPotts wrote:
A touch ranged spell modified by the Reach Spell Feat is no longer a touch ranged spell - i.e. you can't 'hold the charge' on it (since that's a touch-spell related rule, rather than a specific rule for certain spells, if that makes sense). But as Wraithstrike says, if you just want to fire it through your familiar while it's in contact with you, without holding the charge (so no powering him up before battle for an extra free blast in the surprise round), then I'd guess a lot of GMs wouldn't mind the fluff.

there is a benefit if the familiar has a higher DEX than you it'll improve the attack roll


Phasics wrote:
ProfPotts wrote:
A touch ranged spell modified by the Reach Spell Feat is no longer a touch ranged spell - i.e. you can't 'hold the charge' on it (since that's a touch-spell related rule, rather than a specific rule for certain spells, if that makes sense). But as Wraithstrike says, if you just want to fire it through your familiar while it's in contact with you, without holding the charge (so no powering him up before battle for an extra free blast in the surprise round), then I'd guess a lot of GMs wouldn't mind the fluff.
there is a benefit if the familiar has a higher DEX than you it'll improve the attack roll

Good point. I guess I would just let the spell appear to come from the familiar.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Metamagic Reach and Familiar deliver touch spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions