| Prawn |
Talking is a free action which you can do when it is not your turn. Can I tell an unseen servant to do something on someone else's turn?
Example:
A PC is trying to run out of the room. Could I save them the action of opening the door by telling the unseen servant to do it, even if it is not my turn?
Thanks
Prawn
| james maissen |
Talking is a free action which you can do when it is not your turn. Can I tell an unseen servant to do something on someone else's turn?
Example:
A PC is trying to run out of the room. Could I save them the action of opening the door by telling the unseen servant to do it, even if it is not my turn?Thanks
Prawn
No, it would be directing a spell effect and thus happen on your own turn.
-James
| Mahorfeus |
This seems to work in lieu with animal companions, summoned creatures, and eidolons, all of which have unspecified mechanics in terms of when they can act. My group and I rule that they act the moment they hear your command (same initiative), which as you said, is a free action. However, keep in mind that free actions cannot be enacted during another person's turn, only your own - what you are suggesting is an immediate action. Unseen Servant seems to be similar in this aspect, further limited by the fact that is must be directed.
Russ Taylor
Contributor, RPG Superstar 2008 Top 6
|
For unseen servant, I require the move action direct or redirect a spell (PRD link included).
| Are |
Only immediate actions and "not an action"'s can be done during someone else's turn. I am not too sure about talking though, as that's a border between metagaming among players if they can strategize in battle outside of their turns...
Talking is specified as a free action that you can perform even when it isn't your turn. As for how much talking you'd be able to do, that is up to the DM.
| Prawn |
Talking is a free action, but redirecting a spell in combat (As Russ pointed out) is a move action:
"Direct or Redirect a Spell
Some spells allow you to redirect the effect to new targets or areas after you cast the spell. Redirecting a spell requires a move action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity or require concentration."
This clearly applies to attack spells like flaming sphere, but I am not sure if it should apply to unseen servant. In our game, giving an US a simple command is a free action, since speaking is a free action. My original question was if this free action could be taken during another person's turn since talking is okay during another person's turn.
I could see that this might be over-reaching the power of the spell.
Bomanz
|
I rule US this way: It is your spell, you can direct it how and where you will to its extent. You may only direct it in combat on your turn, and it keeps on keeping on unless it completes the task you told it to do.
For instance, you are 20 feet from the door, your buddy is 10 feet from the door, US is right next to you. On your turn, US gets commanded (free action) to OPEN THE DOOR!, US will walk over to the door, open it, stand there. Had you told it to OPEN THE DOOR, RETURN TO MY SIDE, then it would have tried to do that.
I see the US as a very literal kind of essence. BRING ME THAT! will mean it brings it to you, then stand right next to you until further required, just as TAKE THAT THERE! means it goes there and then stands there. With the distance requirement away from the wizard, this has left my arcane casters in a bit of a movement conundrum a few times!
US is very useful, awesome tool, but US is also just a lvl 1 spell, and thus it is not able to determine will other than what you tell it to do.