Orannis
|
It's possible this should go on the playtest board, but it's not *specifically* playtest data, so I'm gonna post it here and if it needs to be moved, so be it.
Anyway, the wording of Derivish Dance states that the "off-hand must be free". Most initial ideas to try and circumvent this for some sort of benefit, like a Ring of Force Shield, are prevented by clever wording (in the case of the ring, the word "wield" is specifically used).
Now what I'd like to know is whether or not Dervish Dance works with the Magus' Spell Combat and, regardless of if it does or not, if it was *intended* to.
From what I can see so far, there's no specifically stated mechanic that prevents the two from functioning together. Spell Combat states that it functions "much like" two weapon fighting, but with that wording it is hardly more than an aesthetic reference point. Since, from what I understand, Dervish Dance functions as long as there is no weapon or shield in the other hand, this means items such as wands are OK. This indicates to me that it functions with Spell Combat.
Anyone who'd like to weigh in on this, especially if there is some obvious piece of rules that i have just completely missed, pelase do.