
![]() |

Quick question as I am posting this from my phone. Player ends up in T-Rex stomach. Wizard casts fireball at dinosaur. Does swallowed character take damage from fireball? If so, does he get a save? Half damage or quarter damage on save? Soft cover?
Opinions please. Thanks.

Ma Gi |

If the T-Rex is slain or maybe takes a certain percentage (1/2 or 3/4) of their Hit Points in one blast, they might take the excess damage (in addition if only a portion of HP is lost). A reflex could help them but they'd likely get a penalty due to restricted movement (the cover bonus is the reduced damage)

Saern |

I say he takes no damage. He's surrounded by a thick wall of flesh, which while said flesh may be getting burned, I doubt the PC notices anything but a warming sensation. Plus, they guy's already getting digested to death. Coming up with an ad hoc ruling turning his ally's actions against him seems unfair.

Regency |
Quick question as I am posting this from my phone. Player ends up in T-Rex stomach. Wizard casts fireball at dinosaur. Does swallowed character take damage from fireball? If so, does he get a save? Half damage or quarter damage on save? Soft cover?
Opinions please. Thanks.
Think DEEP FRIED ICE CREAM Crispy on the outside but still cold in the middle ;)

dngnb8 |

dmchucky69 wrote:Think DEEP FRIED ICE CREAM Crispy on the outside but still cold in the middle ;)Quick question as I am posting this from my phone. Player ends up in T-Rex stomach. Wizard casts fireball at dinosaur. Does swallowed character take damage from fireball? If so, does he get a save? Half damage or quarter damage on save? Soft cover?
Opinions please. Thanks.
Cold but not frozen completely. Its partially melted and affected by heat.
edit: I cant remember where I read it, but doesnt a fireball have the chance to melt metals? I mean, fried ice cream is about 350 degrees. Melting metal is like what, 1000 degrees? Just checked, raw gold melting point is 1947 F.

ronin |

Quick question as I am posting this from my phone. Player ends up in T-Rex stomach. Wizard casts fireball at dinosaur. Does swallowed character take damage from fireball? If so, does he get a save? Half damage or quarter damage on save? Soft cover?
Opinions please. Thanks.
I would say definitely not. The party couldn't target the PC with any spells that could benefit him so I would say the PC couldn't be hurt by any spells either.
By the rules no one has a line of sight or line of effect to the character so he cannot be targeted by spells.

dngnb8 |

I would say definitely not. The party couldn't target the PC with any spells that could benefit him so I would say the PC couldn't be hurt by any spells either.
By the rules no one has a line of sight or line of effect to the character so he cannot be targeted by spells.
The only target of this spell is the landing point. If the caster was targeting the person in the gullet, I would agree.
We have to acknowledge a few things about this spell. It doesnt target a mob, it targets a spot. Once hit, its an AOE based on volume. If something takes up space, it will fill in elsewhere (think of how the effect works in a hallway)
In this case, the mouth and throat of such a large creature could indeed fill with fire. It is a space of decent proportion. The question would be if the head resided in the AOE. If the creature was taller then the AOE, and the caster targeted the ground, the head (throat cavity) wouldnt be in the effect. The swallowed individual would not be affected.
Additionally, this is magic fire, as I said before, it melts soft metals (2000 degrees). its instantaneous, intense heat.
Considering the situation, DM judgment takes place. If I was DM, based on what is said in this thread, I probably would make this decision
The save is a reflex save, indicating the ability to dodge or move in a lessor effect of the heat. I would then say
If the T-Rex saves, the occupant doenst have too and takes no damage.
However....
If the T-Rex fails, it takes the full brunt of the Fireball, including, inhalation. The occupant would take half damage, but would get no reflex save since they are pinned in the gullet and dont really have a movement base. Magic resistance or any other defensive magic would apply for damage reduction purposes (Protection from Fire Spell for example)

Saern |

That would require the digestive tract to be a simple, open tube. It isn't. Even if the DM is so inclined to treat the T-rex's throat as a hallway (I would call shenanigans), it would have to at least deal enough damage to burn through just like any barrier or door. There is a solid wall of flesh between the swallowed character and the effect of the fireball. There is no line of effect, which means the gut of the dinosaur is not subject to the area of effect of the spell.
This all seems dangerously close to including physics in D&D, which is a no-no because it doesn't work. Additionally, as previously mentioned, although admittedly more subjective, it seems far too punitive toward the player and against the spirit of balance underlying 3.x D&D.

wraithstrike |

I'm just throwing the suggestion out there if they want the damage. Personally unless the dino was burnt to a crisp (as a 20th level's fireball would) I would not have any damage sent through to the trapped PC.
10th level casters are not any level powerful than 20th level casters when it comes to a fireball. Both cap at 10d6 barring special circumstances, and the dino's stomach should keep him safe.