| Renvale999 |
This came up tonight, where a devil (bearded) summoned another bearded devil. My player, the oracle, promptly cast Protection from Evil, assuming it would work against the new bearded devil (the one that was summoned) as it is a "summoned creature", therefore couldn't approach her and such. I ruled that it worked as she interpreted just to speed up the game (she was in a bad mood because she was failing at healing the infernal wounds lol).
Did I make the right call?
| Huan |
It sounds like you made the right call, or at least a largely correct call. Protection from Evil should ward the oracle from the summoned bearded devil's natural attacks, provided the oracle overcomes its Spell Resistance (SR 16). But the spell would not prevent contact with any manufactured weapon wielded by the bearded devil (although the +2 deflection bonus to AC would still apply), and typically they have their nasty glaives.
| Oliver McShade |
See your individual DM.
I always rule that melee weapons count as bodily contact. Most Devil/Demon/angels etc use weapon, so I see no point in the spell unless interpreted this way. ((although i can see other GM ruling differently)).
Now if the devil was to throw its sword at you, well range attack work just fine (although the +2 defection bonus to AC would still apply).
| KaeYoss |
It's quite obvious that summoned devils are summoned. The ability is called summon after all. Plus, it works just like summon monster spells, which are summoning spells, so you made the right call there.
Protection from evil only mentions natural weapons in the "prevents bodily contact" part of its description, so if you stick to the rules as written, weapons will ignore that part of the spell. It helps against most critters, too, since most summoned critters, especially the lower-level ones, don't use weapons. And if the low-level spell doesn't work against high-level summoning magic, now that isn't such a horrible thing.
On the other hand, a ruling that includes all mêlée weapons, or even all physical attacks, in the protection isn't unreasonable, either.