Flamming Sphere


Rules Questions


The wizard in our party cast Flaming Sphere the other night and there was a question about where the spell comes to a stop.
The rule says "If it enters a space with a creature, it stops moving for the round...".
So my question is, does it stop in the square "next to" the creature, or does it stop "in" the square with the creature.
Also, does it keep on rolling thru to the square on the other side of the creature on the next turn, if the wizard wants it to.
Lt. Stone


Lt. Stone wrote:

The wizard in our party cast Flaming Sphere the other night and there was a question about where the spell comes to a stop.

The rule says "If it enters a space with a creature, it stops moving for the round...".
So my question is, does it stop in the square "next to" the creature, or does it stop "in" the square with the creature.
Also, does it keep on rolling thru to the square on the other side of the creature on the next turn, if the wizard wants it to.
Lt. Stone

Bolded for emphasis. It wouldn't stop before it enters the square since that would mean it didn't enter the square.

Scarab Sages

A flaming sphere moves until it runs out of movement or enters a square with a creature. When it enters a square with a creature, it may deal 3d6 damage to that creature.


To answer this directly without mocking; the sphere stops in the targets actual square, as the sphere is made of a softish material that does not move other object it rolls into.


Just curious, since this spell Is the target of a question that came up for me, I used this spell myself and another question came up from someone in my group. What is the damage range of the sphere? Does it only hurt targets in the square that it occupies or does it hurt anything in the squares adjacent to it? Our GM had deemed it as it deals damages to anything in the adjacent squares but I just want to know so next time we will have a defiant answer.


Aod43254 wrote:
Just curious, since this spell Is the target of a question that came up for me, I used this spell myself and another question came up from someone in my group. What is the damage range of the sphere? Does it only hurt targets in the square that it occupies or does it hurt anything in the squares adjacent to it? Our GM had deemed it as it deals damages to anything in the adjacent squares but I just want to know so next time we will have a defiant answer.

I don't believe it says it does, so no


Aod43254 wrote:
Just curious, since this spell Is the target of a question that came up for me, I used this spell myself and another question came up from someone in my group. What is the damage range of the sphere? Does it only hurt targets in the square that it occupies or does it hurt anything in the squares adjacent to it? Our GM had deemed it as it deals damages to anything in the adjacent squares but I just want to know so next time we will have a defiant answer.

It's a 5 foot radius which means it hits a 10 foot x 10 foot area. Anything in those four squares could take damage -- no matter how it enters that area.

(side note -- Definite -- defiant is what you are when the GM tells you no)


Abraham spalding wrote:
Aod43254 wrote:
Just curious, since this spell Is the target of a question that came up for me, I used this spell myself and another question came up from someone in my group. What is the damage range of the sphere? Does it only hurt targets in the square that it occupies or does it hurt anything in the squares adjacent to it? Our GM had deemed it as it deals damages to anything in the adjacent squares but I just want to know so next time we will have a defiant answer.

It's a 5 foot radius which means it hits a 10 foot x 10 foot area. Anything in those four squares could take damage -- no matter how it enters that area.

(side note -- Definite -- defiant is what you are when the GM tells you no)

It is a 5ft. diameter not radius


Shadow_of_death wrote:
It is a 5ft. diameter not radius

So it is -- in any case spells only deal damage to those within their area unless otherwise specified (such as a wall of fire, which damages those outside of its area) and even then only to the extent the spell says.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Flamming Sphere All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions