Eldritch Knight caster level


Rules Questions


This has recently come up in our campaign and I can't find a satisfactory answer anywhere else. Do you add all EK levels to your base arcane class to determine caster level, or just the 9 levels that add to your spells/day? I read it as only the 9 levels, but I want to be sure.

Also, why in the world is the spell crit a swift action instead of a free action? Is that a misprint? It made the build alot harder to do and very dependent on specific armor materials, etc. Also it completely trivializes alot of the arcane sorcerer bloodline abilities for metamagic feats.


Only the 9 levels.
I don't know about the Spell crit though...

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Aerendi wrote:
Also, why in the world is the spell crit a swift action instead of a free action? Is that a misprint? It made the build alot harder to do and very dependent on specific armor materials, etc. Also it completely trivializes alot of the arcane sorcerer bloodline abilities for metamagic feats.
Swift Action wrote:
A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. You can perform only a single swift action per turn.

Possibly to limit usage and prevent unbalance...


Just the 9/10 caster levels. There is an ioun stone and a trait that can help offset this. If you play with 3.5 stuff, then the feat Practiced Spellcaster also helps offset it. I expect to see Practiced Spellcaster makes a reappearance in Ultimate Magic, but we shall have to wait and see.

A good houserule is to make Spell Critical a free action with a once per round limitation. It's certainly not raw, but it works a little better.

Grand Lodge

You add all save for the first EK level which does not advance spellcasting.

Liberty's Edge

Aerendi wrote:
Also, why in the world is the spell crit a swift action instead of a free action? Is that a misprint? It made the build alot harder to do and very dependent on specific armor materials, etc. Also it completely trivializes alot of the arcane sorcerer bloodline abilities for metamagic feats.

I dont think it was ment to be used on an attack of opportuity, making it a free action would let you

Liberty's Edge

ForgottenRider wrote:
I dont think it was ment to be used on an attack of opportuity, making it a free action would let you

No, free actions still must take place on your turn. Speaking is an explicit exception.

Liberty's Edge

Howie23 wrote:
ForgottenRider wrote:
I dont think it was ment to be used on an attack of opportuity, making it a free action would let you
No, free actions still must take place on your turn. Speaking is an explicit exception.

I just read free actions, it said nothing about when you can take them. Under speaking it dosn't say it is the only free action you can take out of turn. You can perform only one swift action a turn, and only on your turn. There is much less confusion on making a spell a swift action as opposed to a free action

Liberty's Edge

ForgottenRider wrote:
Howie23 wrote:
ForgottenRider wrote:
I dont think it was ment to be used on an attack of opportuity, making it a free action would let you
No, free actions still must take place on your turn. Speaking is an explicit exception.
I just read free actions, it said nothing about when you can take them. Under speaking it dosn't say it is the only free action you can take out of turn. You can perform only one swift action a turn, and only on your turn. There is much less confusion on making a spell a swift action as opposed to a free action

"When a character's turn comes up in the initiative sequence, that character performs his entire round's worth of actions." (p.178)

This is the general rule. The rule system is an exception based rule system. That means general rules are in place unless over-ridden by an exception. Exceptions include attacks of opportunity, special initiative actions, immediate actions, and speaking. Free actions are not an exception.

Historically, swift and immediate actions were added to the action set after the rules were initially developed. This is why there is language there to distinguish if they can be taken in turn or not.

Hope that helps.

Liberty's Edge

Howie23 wrote:

"When a character's turn comes up in the initiative sequence, that character performs his entire round's worth of actions." (p.178)

This is the general rule. The rule system is an exception based rule system. That means general rules are in place unless over-ridden by an exception. Exceptions include attacks of opportunity, special initiative actions, immediate actions, and speaking. Free actions are not an exception.

Historically, swift and immediate actions were added to the action set after the rules were initially developed. This is why there is language there to distinguish if they can be taken in turn or not.

Hope that helps.

Wow..Looking at that your right.You would think that the other things they list as free actions would be easier to do than get out the word of a few sentences.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Eldritch Knight caster level All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions