Touch vs Ranged Touch


Rules Questions


Ok,
Just looking through the rules because it affects my character in my game. I usually run, so I just make my own decisions, but I'm in someone elses game now, so I am double checking all my rules. :)

A touch attack is treated like a weapon, and therefore doesn't provoke an attack of opportunity when used in melee.

A ranged touch attack however does provoke an attack of opportunity when used. It doesn't say 'in melee'.

The way I have always ruled this in my game is that it is similar to a hand ax or dagger. You can use either in melee without provoking AoO, however, if you throw either, you're making a ranged attack and provoke an AoO. We've always treated RTAs the same way. If you're making a melee attack with the RTA then it's just a TA, and follows those rules and doesn't provoke. If you're making a ranged attack, you provoke.

However, I can't find anything in the rules that would cover using a RTA as just a TA.


Well, you can shoot arrows in melee but you provoke if you do so.
The hand axe and such, imho, are melee weapons that can also be thrown.
Not ranged weapons.
A touch attack is considered a melee weapon.
A Ranged touch attack is considered a ranged weapon.
Casting a ranged touch attack spell in melee would provoke for casting and for a ranged attack in melee. Bad idea. Hope he's not standing next to a guy with combat reflexes ;)
The only exception to this would be spellstike for a magus.


I wouldn't let RTA be used as TAs. I believe they are (most often) significantly different in style.
Such as an acid arrow, you are 'shooting' and can't just deliver by touch.


Kryzbyn is correct. Unless you have the Magus' "Close Range" ability, a ray spell is always a ranged attack and always provokes.


mdt wrote:
The way I have always ruled this in my game is that it is similar to a hand ax or dagger.

Why would a Scorching Ray (say) be more similar to a hand axe than a bow?

My opinion: Unless it states otherwise in the attack description, you can't use a ranged touch attack as a melee touch attack.


It's more a case of the Warlock, as we're allowing 3.5 classes. So the Eldritch Blast is what I'm looking at specifically.


mdt wrote:
It's more a case of the Warlock, as we're allowing 3.5 classes. So the Eldritch Blast is what I'm looking at specifically.

There's an invocation the Warlock can take to allow him to use Eldritch Blast as part of a melee attack. If he doesn't take this, it's AoO all the way.


AvalonXQ wrote:
mdt wrote:
It's more a case of the Warlock, as we're allowing 3.5 classes. So the Eldritch Blast is what I'm looking at specifically.
There's an invocation the Warlock can take to allow him to use Eldritch Blast as part of a melee attack. If he doesn't take this, it's AoO all the way.

Hmm, ok Hideous Blow. However, it doesn't really go into any detail. It just says you can make a melee attack with it. Doesn't specify if it's a touch attack or not. Says you can make it with a weapon, but don't have to. Grrr.

So, it would seem to turn it into a standard Touch Attack, which can be delivered with a weapon, but doesn't have to be. Wish it said that in plain english.


mdt wrote:

Hmm, ok Hideous Blow. However, it doesn't really go into any detail. It just says you can make a melee attack with it. Doesn't specify if it's a touch attack or not. Says you can make it with a weapon, but don't have to. Grrr.

So, it would seem to turn it into a standard Touch Attack, which can be delivered with a weapon, but doesn't have to be. Wish it said that in plain english.

Try the Eldritch Glaive invocation from Dragon Magic instead. It clearly turns your blast into a melee (touch) weapon.


hogarth wrote:
mdt wrote:

Hmm, ok Hideous Blow. However, it doesn't really go into any detail. It just says you can make a melee attack with it. Doesn't specify if it's a touch attack or not. Says you can make it with a weapon, but don't have to. Grrr.

So, it would seem to turn it into a standard Touch Attack, which can be delivered with a weapon, but doesn't have to be. Wish it said that in plain english.

Try the Eldritch Glaive invocation from Dragon Magic instead. It clearly turns your blast into a melee (touch) weapon.

That'll do unicorn, that'll do. :)

Seriously though, thanks for pointing that one out. That's just about perfect for my character. I'm trying to go ranged (got a 7 str), and that will work well, move up to 10 feet, ranged blast. Next round use EG to make a melee attack (and flank and do sneak attack damage), and still threaten the rest of the area for the turn. I think I'll have to get Combat Reflexes next level. (Going Rogue/Warlock)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Touch vs Ranged Touch All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions