| Xiph |
Would I have to wait the duration of the effect out, or could I end it voluntarily at any point?
-----------------------------------
Growth
Associated Domain: Plant.
Replacement Power: The following granted power replaces the wooden fist power of the Plant domain.
Enlarge (Su): As a swift action you can enlarge yourself, as if you were the target of the enlarge person spell. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.
Callum Finlayson
|
Well, the *caster* can dismiss a dismissible spell, not the target -- after all hold person (for example) is dismissible.
And I believe that supernatural effects duplicating dismissible spells are at least implicitly dismissible -- though I can't find anything that explcitly says that.
So I'd rule yes as well, but because you're effectively the caster not because the you're effectively the target.
| Louis IX |
Related questions:
1) it isn't written explicitly that the user is the caster: "as if you were the target of X" isn't the same as "as if you had cast X on yourself".
- if we assume that the user is the caster for all level-dependent variables, it implies that the duration is 1 min/level for each use. Nice.
- if the user isn't the caster, what is the duration? One round like the other subpar/nerfed powers, like sorcerers growing claws? Or is the deity the caster (er... no)?
2) due to the wording (again), this is not a spell but a supernatural power; polymorph rules concern spells, mostly (see quote, below).
- does that mean that it can stack with other polymorph effects? (because of the sentence "Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack." in the Enlarge spell description, I don't think it would stack with itself or the actual spells Enlarge & co., but what about the other polymorph effects?)
3) if the duration is in minutes, and especially if it can stack with Wildshape, I think that it would be really interesting for a Druid, but:
- are subdomains available to druids? (as written, I don't know)
You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.
Re-reading the quoted paragraph attentively (emphasis mine), it seems that:
a) despite the fact that polymorph spells don't stack, polymorph effects can stack. Wildshape is explicitely called as a polymorph effect, not a spell.b) the only thing that can't stack with a polymorph effect is when you "activate" such an effect while already under the influence of a polymorph spell
c) the "in addition" part only mentions spells. As Wildshape isn't a spell, one could theoretically cast the actual Enlarge spell on a Wildshaped druid. And, if the actual spell is legit, the Growth subdomain power would be, too. Adversely, using the spell or even the subdomain power when under a polymorph spell is not.
Sorry for the rules-lawyering, but I want to know if this is at all possible and within the rules. I do know that "ask you GM" is an answer, but it's not what I'm searching for.
| Stynkk |
As you can dismiss enlarge person, I don't see why you wouldn't be able to dismiss this power. However, you'll be down one of your usages cutting it short.
@LouisIX
I'd allow druids to go with subdomains, I mean they can get the domain so why not the subdomain?
As for the last bit... uh.. you're looking into this a lot farther than you have to me thinks. The growth ability functions "as if you were the target of the enlarge person spell" and Wildshape - while not a spell itself - functions "like the beast shape I spell, except as noted here.."
So because they both (Growth and Wildshape) are treated as if they are the actual spell, then I'd say no, sorry it still falls under the rules and limitations for the school of Transmutation.
| Louis IX |
As for the last bit... uh.. you're looking into this a lot farther than you have to me thinks. The growth ability functions "as if you were the target of the enlarge person spell" and Wildshape - while not a spell itself - functions "like the beast shape I spell, except as noted here.."So because they both (Growth and Wildshape) are treated as if they are the actual spell, then I'd say no, sorry it still falls under the rules and limitations for the school of Transmutation.
That's the spirit of the rules, I agree. It would have been simpler to say "polymorph effect" each time (perhaps they'll do in future editions/erratas) and only mention spells as means to achieve the effect. As it is, there are several threads arguing on the fact that such-and-such spell-emulating ability isn't a spell in itself (for instance, although unrelated to the polymorph question, I think there's a thread about the summoner's summons not being valid targets for Augment Summoning).
So, a wildshaped druid can't receive Animal Growth (where is that spell, actually?) because they don't lose their type, and they can't gain Enlarge Person either. Besides, because "multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack", Enlarge can't be used to increase the size of someone that is already larger due to a magical effect - which wildshape is, kind of.
Back to my original question: is this subdomain interesting for a druid? Barely, in fact, because it doesn't stack with the druid's best combat forms. But it would be a nice addition to a fighter (or any other melee class). Say, a 1-level dip in Cleric, and voilà, self-buffing Wis+3 Enlarge Person per day, as a swift action to boot. Even if it's "only" one minute for each use, that's nice enough.