Buying Scrolls above min level


Pathfinder Society

Dark Archive 1/5

I see it say that Spellcasting Services are always at minimum level. And that the always available scrolls (0 and 1) are at caster level 1. However, if you wish to (and have the necessary TPA), can you purchase scrolls with a higher caster level? Can I buy a caster level 5 burning hands scroll for 125 (25 * 1 * 5)? Same with potions I suppose, could I buy a potion at higher than minimum level with the increased price?

I would imagine I can, but I want to make sure.

The Exchange 5/5

Criik wrote:

I see it say that Spellcasting Services are always at minimum level. And that the always available scrolls (0 and 1) are at caster level 1. However, if you wish to (and have the necessary TPA), can you purchase scrolls with a higher caster level? Can I buy a caster level 5 burning hands scroll for 125 (25 * 1 * 5)? Same with potions I suppose, could I buy a potion at higher than minimum level with the increased price?

I would imagine I can, but I want to make sure.

Absolutely, provided that your character has enough PA to afford the purchase.

The Exchange 2/5

Doug Miles wrote:
Criik wrote:

I see it say that Spellcasting Services are always at minimum level. And that the always available scrolls (0 and 1) are at caster level 1. However, if you wish to (and have the necessary TPA), can you purchase scrolls with a higher caster level? Can I buy a caster level 5 burning hands scroll for 125 (25 * 1 * 5)? Same with potions I suppose, could I buy a potion at higher than minimum level with the increased price?

I would imagine I can, but I want to make sure.

Absolutely, provided that your character has enough PA to afford the purchase.

This used to be the case, according to Josh, but Mark changed the ruling back in October and said that scrolls/potions/wands had to be purchased at minimum caster level with full charges. I'm sorry I don't know how to do a link, but it's in the thread called Potion/Scroll/Wand Caster Levels in PFS under general questions.

Grand Lodge 4/5 5/5

teribithia9 wrote:
Doug Miles wrote:
Criik wrote:

I see it say that Spellcasting Services are always at minimum level. And that the always available scrolls (0 and 1) are at caster level 1. However, if you wish to (and have the necessary TPA), can you purchase scrolls with a higher caster level? Can I buy a caster level 5 burning hands scroll for 125 (25 * 1 * 5)? Same with potions I suppose, could I buy a potion at higher than minimum level with the increased price?

I would imagine I can, but I want to make sure.

Absolutely, provided that your character has enough PA to afford the purchase.
This used to be the case, according to Josh, but Mark changed the ruling back in October and said that scrolls/potions/wands had to be purchased at minimum caster level with full charges. I'm sorry I don't know how to do a link, but it's in the thread called Potion/Scroll/Wand Caster Levels in PFS under general questions.

Check out here.

Or

Dragnmoon wrote:

But to answer your question, Potions, Scrolls, and Wands are bought at the minimum level with Full charges where applicable, unless other wise noted on the chronicle sheet.

Some Chronicle sheet awards allow you to buy them at a Higher caster level.

Mark Moreland wrote:

Dragnmoon is correct. Consider this post your reference to that effect, and this will be clarified and included in future versions of the Guide and/or the FAQ.

He goes on to say that they plan on making higher than minimum available on Chronicle sheets.

I think it's a tad silly, but thems the rules :P

The Exchange 5/5

Thank you teribithia9 & Clint. I forgot about the change.

Grand Lodge 4/5 5/5

Doug Miles wrote:
Thank you teribithia9 & Clint. I forgot about the change.

I had no idea about it until teribithia posted and I went hunting for the rule. Kudos Teri.

The Exchange 2/5

cblome59 wrote:
Doug Miles wrote:
Thank you teribithia9 & Clint. I forgot about the change.
I had no idea about it until teribithia posted and I went hunting for the rule. Kudos Teri.

Thank you for posting the link--is there somewhere in help I can learn how to do that?

Dark Archive 1/5

Ok, now I'm getting confused again. According to Josh Frost in this post,

Joshua J. Frost wrote:

One of those posts was referring to purchasing partially charged wands (you can't--clarified in 2.2) and the other post was referring to using the magic items chapter to buy custom magic items such as swords that can only be used by fighters.

Scrolls, wands, and other items that have charges (or are single use) can most certainly be purchased at higher caster levels so long as your TPA allows it and so long as the item in question allows it. I in no way wanted to give any impression that you couldn't do this. (And, to be fair, had I made this decision, it would've been in v2.2.)

Happy shopping!

This looks like it rules that you CAN indeed buy them up. Unless there was some other rule added somewhere. The only thing I see in v3.0 for purchasing scrolls is that it must be made by wizard/druid/cleric. And then there is a rule specific for wands that it must be fully charged. But nowhere that it must be minimum level. I take it as the lvl 0 and 1, minimum caster level are part of the always available, and that the ones above caster level (and above level 1) require a Chronicle entry OR TPA.

Edit: To make a link to an individual post, you right click on the date/time stamp on the post and get the url from there.

Grand Lodge 4/5 5/5

Criik wrote:


This looks like it rules that you CAN indeed buy them up. Unless there was some other rule added somewhere. The only thing I see in v3.0 for purchasing scrolls is that it must be made by wizard/druid/cleric. And then there is a rule specific for wands that it must be fully charged. But nowhere that it must be minimum level. I take it as the lvl 0 and 1, minimum caster level are part of the always available, and that the ones above caster level (and above level 1) require a Chronicle entry OR TPA.

Unfortunately Erik's post came after Josh's post and aaround the time in the switch up to Hyrum. I would say that it overrides Josh's previous one, but it wouldn't be bad to get a little clarification from Erik or Hyrum on this.

The Exchange 2/5

cblome59 wrote:
Criik wrote:


This looks like it rules that you CAN indeed buy them up. Unless there was some other rule added somewhere. The only thing I see in v3.0 for purchasing scrolls is that it must be made by wizard/druid/cleric. And then there is a rule specific for wands that it must be fully charged. But nowhere that it must be minimum level. I take it as the lvl 0 and 1, minimum caster level are part of the always available, and that the ones above caster level (and above level 1) require a Chronicle entry OR TPA.

Unfortunately Erik's post came after Josh's post and aaround the time in the switch up to Hyrum. I would say that it overrides Josh's previous one, but it wouldn't be bad to get a little clarification from Erik or Hyrum on this.

That's why, in my post, I said that previously, under Josh, you had been able to buy them up. Mark posted his ruling after Josh was no longer in charge of PFS, so Mark's is the latest ruling.

Grand Lodge 4/5 5/5

teribithia9 wrote:
That's why, in my post, I said that previously, under Josh, you had been able to buy them up. Mark posted his ruling after Josh was no longer in charge of PFS, so Mark's is the latest ruling.

And to be fair, in the post I linked Dragnmoon found the Josh link as well and seemed to be asking Mark to take a look at it and give a ruling, which he never did (darn busy developers).

Liberty's Edge

Not wanting to start a flame war or anything...but have we heard why the decision to only be able to purchase at min level was made? I understand not everything is told to us, nor run by the community at large, and that's fine...but I'm having trouble grasping this one.

It seems quite natural that we should be able to go out and buy things such as 3rd level Magic Missile wand 7th level Fly potion, etc. I don't really see this as crafting -- it doesn't cost me any less or anything like that.

And, I don't see it as being imbalanced either -- if I want to blow my wad on a high level scroll or a 4th level wand, that's taking it away from something else -- and after all, casters have a lot fewer things to purchase typically, so it gives them some extra utility and staying power.

Anyway, I really am just looking to see if we can get a little taste of what the reasoning behind this one was, that's all. Just plain curiosity.


Ricky Bobby wrote:
Not wanting to start a flame war or anything...but have we heard why the decision to only be able to purchase at min level was made?

My guess -- because the price charts for potions/wands/scrolls in the Core Rulebook are calibrated to minimum caster level.

The Exchange 5/5

Because math is hard :(

Grand Lodge 4/5 5/5

Doug Miles wrote:
Because math is hard :(

True, I've seen people that had issues figuring out how many HPs they got each level, I wouldn't want to see them try to calculate a scroll.


Doug Miles wrote:
Because math is hard :(

I suspect it's more along the lines of "adjudicating things created using the magic item crafting rules is hard, so let's stick with the simplest set of assumptions possible".

Grand Lodge 3/5

teribithia9 wrote:
cblome59 wrote:
Doug Miles wrote:
Thank you teribithia9 & Clint. I forgot about the change.
I had no idea about it until teribithia posted and I went hunting for the rule. Kudos Teri.
Thank you for posting the link--is there somewhere in help I can learn how to do that?

Hey Teribithia. If you do a post, look under the main window to where it says "BBCode tags you can use:" and click on show. In there somewhere it will show how to format [ url= web address ] for links.

The Exchange 2/5

K Neil Shackleton wrote:
teribithia9 wrote:
cblome59 wrote:
Doug Miles wrote:
Hey Teribithia. If you do a post, look under the main window to where it says "BBCode tags you can use:" and click on show. In there somewhere it will show how to format [ url= web address ] for links.

Cool. Thanks!

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 **

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
cblome59 wrote:
teribithia9 wrote:
That's why, in my post, I said that previously, under Josh, you had been able to buy them up. Mark posted his ruling after Josh was no longer in charge of PFS, so Mark's is the latest ruling.
And to be fair, in the post I linked Dragnmoon found the Josh link as well and seemed to be asking Mark to take a look at it and give a ruling, which he never did (darn busy developers).

Exactly, Mark made that mistake in the past, and I think he was confused and remembered what he thought before Josh corrected Him.

I got confused because I think Scrolls on Chronicle sheets are at minimum level.

I tried pointing that out to him, but he never went back to the thread to comment.

The Exchange 3/5

Slighty off topic, but as long as we're talking about these kinds of things again, I'd like to also confirm/deny the ability to buy the following, assuming one had the PA and gold to afford such:

A heightened (to lvl 4) scroll of Daylight
A wand of Empowered Fireball
A wand of Maximized Magic Missle CL7

Thanks.

-Pain


Painlord wrote:

Slighty off topic, but as long as we're talking about these kinds of things again, I'd like to also confirm/deny the ability to buy the following, assuming one had the PA and gold to afford such:

A heightened (to lvl 4) scroll of Daylight
A wand of Empowered Fireball
A wand of Maximized Magic Missle CL7

Empowered Fireball is a 5th level wizard spell, yes? So that one's definitely out.

The Exchange 5/5

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
hogarth wrote:
Painlord wrote:

Slighty off topic, but as long as we're talking about these kinds of things again, I'd like to also confirm/deny the ability to buy the following, assuming one had the PA and gold to afford such:

A heightened (to lvl 4) scroll of Daylight
A wand of Empowered Fireball
A wand of Maximized Magic Missle CL7

Empowered Fireball is a 5th level wizard spell, yes? So that one's definitely out.

Why would a 5th level wizard spell be automatically disqualified?

5/5

Alizor wrote:


Why would a 5th level wizard spell be automatically disqualified?

Wand.

The Exchange 5/5

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Kyle Baird wrote:
Alizor wrote:


Why would a 5th level wizard spell be automatically disqualified?
Wand.

Even after seeing the reply I read "scroll" about 4 times before my brain realized it said wand. Yeah, missed the "wand" part of it...


Alizor wrote:
Even after seeing the reply I read "scroll" about 4 times before my brain realized it said wand. Yeah, missed the "wand" part of it...

To be honest, until just now I read "wand" for the heightened Daylight example, so my reading comprehension isn't any better!

My two cents: the other two metamagicked items (scroll of heightened Daylight and wand of maximized Magic Missile) are available to purchase if your PA is high enough.


You can buy spellcasting services at above minimum caster level if you are spending gold and basing the value on your TPA, so you should be able to do the same when buying a scroll of a spell, though Mark and Hyrum are now saying you can't. What you can't do is take a base spell and modify it with Heightened, Maximized, etc because that would fall under the banned crafting rules.

And here is an example of yet another ruling that has been buried deep in the forums that most people will not know about and not enforce because it is not in the Guide.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 **

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Enevhar Aldarion wrote:

You can buy spellcasting services at above minimum caster level if you are spending gold and basing the value on your TPA, so you should be able to do the same when buying a scroll of a spell, though Mark and Hyrum are now saying you can't. What you can't do is take a base spell and modify it with Heightened, Maximized, etc because that would fall under the banned crafting rules.

And here is an example of yet another ruling that has been buried deep in the forums that most people will not know about and not enforce because it is not in the Guide.

That is why we really need to start encouraging people to start using This thread instead of opening new threads for every rule question.

Pathfinder Society Organized Play Rules FAQ v3.0+

We used to encourage it, by telling the poster to ask the question again in the prober thread, but we have seemed to have stop.. :(


Maybe one of us around here who has the spare time to do it should make a new thread to contain just rulings and suggestions that will go into the next version of the Guide so that Mark and Hyrum will have them all in one place, because as big as the 3.0 FAQ thread is, things get lost in there too.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 **

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Enevhar Aldarion wrote:
Maybe one of us around here who has the spare time to do it should make a new thread to contain just rulings and suggestions that will go into the next version of the Guide so that Mark and Hyrum will have them all in one place, because as big as the 3.0 FAQ thread is, things get lost in there too.

Nah, you just ignore everything in the FAQ that is Not Josh, Mark Hyrum and Maybe a few other posters that are mostly right, does not really take long to scan through them.

That said, been thinking about doing just that, but decided against it when they announced they are working on a new web format for FAQ in the PFS.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Buying Scrolls above min level All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.