
Greg Wasson |

According to rules, can a wizard change his bonded item from a ring to an amulet, as long as he pays the required costs? Or must he maintain the same "type" item. For example, at first level he chose a longbow as his bonded item, but at third level he wishes to make it a wand.
At 1st level, wizards form a powerful bond with an object or a creature. This bond can take one of two forms: a familiar or a bonded object. A familiar is a magical pet that enhances the wizard's skills and senses and can aid him in magic, while a bonded object is an item a wizard can use to cast additional spells or to serve as a magical item. Once a wizard makes this choice, it is permanent and cannot be changed.
My confusion comes from the bolded line. I am unsure if it refers to the choice of familiar/item only. OR if it also is including item cannot be changed as well. After reading it, my gut is saying to allow the wizzie to switch up the item if he is spending the cash to change it. I do not see it as a gamebreaker. BUT I like to know what RAW actually is.
EDIT: Also the fact a wizzie can change his familiar type makes me lean towards the bonded object may be any type.
Thanks for any input,
Greg

Umbral Reaver |

I think that means once you decide between arcane bond and familiar the choice is permanent.
If you have a bonded item you may unbond it and bond a new one, per the costs listed (200 gp per wizard level plus cost of the item). There are even a few magic items in the APG designed with the expectation that if a wizard finds one, they can unbond their old item and bond the new one for its unique arcane bond benefits.