Spellstrike and Spell Trigger Items such as wands and staffs


Round 1: Magus

Shadow Lodge

Under Spell Trigger, it says:

"Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin. The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity."

From what I gather of what this says, you can use a wand or a staff, since they are spell trigger items, to activate a spell and cast it off.

Staves:

"Activation: Staves use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a staff is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. (If the spell being cast has a longer casting time than 1 standard action, however, it takes that long to cast the spell from a staff.) To activate a staff, a character must hold it forth in at least one hand (or whatever passes for a hand, for nonhumanoid creatures)."

At the beginning of this it says, " Staves use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a staff is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity." You cast a spell from a staff when activating it, and from the Ultimate Magus Playtest it says:

"Spellstrike (Su): Whenever a magus casts a spell with a
range of touch from the magus spell list, he can deliver the
spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee
attack. If successful, this attack deals its normal damage as
well as the effects of the spell. This ability does not grant
the magus a free melee attack—such attacks must be
made normally. Alternatively, a magus
can make a free touch attack with his
free hand instead of delivering the
spell through his weapon, as normal."

Particularly, the first part of the first sentence says, "Whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of touch from the magus spell list,..." Are you not casting a spell when you use a staff? I'm thinking this is right. Therefore, you can use a staff with spellstrike. Then there are wands:

"Activation: Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. (If the spell being cast has a longer casting time than 1 action, however, it takes that long to cast the spell from a wand.) To activate a wand, a character must hold it in hand (or whatever passes for a hand, for non-humanoid creatures) and point it in the general direction of the target or area. A wand may be used while grappling or while swallowed whole."

In the first part of this it says, "Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity." You cast a spell from a wand that is the spell trigger activation and I'm thinking again. This can be used with Spellstrike.

Am I wrong like I was with Scrolls, or and I on to something. I figure a Magus can bring out a fifth level wand of Shocking Grasp and use it every round with Spellstrike. It is a spell cast by a spell trigger, a single word, and can be combined with spellstrike, or by using a staff. These items in effect cast a spell with a word and since it cast a spell, you can use it with Spellstrike. I think I'm on to something.

Dark Archive

I think I agree with you that Wands and Staves could be used with Spellstrike.

The more important question might be one of balance. Do we want Magi to be able to do this?


Spellstrike, yes. But you can't use the wand (standard action, usually) and attack with your weapon at the same time (standard or full round action).

Spell Combat, I don't think so, you need a free hand, a hand holding and using a wand wasn't intended to be a free hand afaik.

Btw, JB said that Spellstrike and Spell Combat are going to be reworked and reworded for the next version of the Magus, how those abilities work with scrolls, rods, staffs, etc.. may change in the future.

Shadow Lodge

IkeDoe wrote:

Spellstrike, yes. But you can't use the wand (standard action, usually) and attack with your weapon at the same time (standard or full round action).

Btw, JB said that Spellstrike and Spell Combat are going to be reworked and reworded for the next version of the Magus, how those abilities work with scrolls, rods, staffs, etc.. may change in the future.

According to the rules when you use a spell trigger item you cast a spell. The exception is that you are using a word to cast the spell as oppose to a spell being cast from your mind. In other words, when you use a spell trigger item such as a wand or a staff you are casting a spell and since you are casting a spell it qualifies for spellstrike. According to the rules for touch attacks(I don't remember the exact way you call it), you can cast a spell and touch a person, as a free action, when you give a benefit, or if you are attacking, attack as a free action. According to the spellstrike rules, I can use my sword instead of my hand and get the full benefit of the spell and the weapon; hence, I can use a staff or a wand to cast a spell and attack. It is all apart of the standard action to use the wand or staff and get the benefit of spellstrike.

Since, you are activating an item as a standard action you cast a spell and since you have a spell, it qualifies for spellstrike. I hope you understand.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Ultimate Magic Playtest / Round 1: Magus / Spellstrike and Spell Trigger Items such as wands and staffs All Messageboards
Recent threads in Round 1: Magus
Board closed