| Blave |
A Potion or Oil can be made of any spell 3rd level or lower with a target that is not "personal". So you cold brew a Potion of Magic Missile? (labeling it as healing potion for a bad surprise... :D )
What's more, could you brew an Oil of Fog Cloud?
An Oil is activating by "applying" it. So if I throw the Oil, the bottle breaks and the Oil is "applied" to the square where it lands. Would this work? There's no rule stating that you can only apply Oils only to a living being (otherwise there would be no Oils of Bless Weapon).
So, am I missing some rule against this or are Potions and Oil much more versatile than I ever thought?
| Urath DM |
A Potion or Oil can be made of any spell 3rd level or lower with a target that is not "personal". So you cold brew a Potion of Magic Missile? (labeling it as healing potion for a bad surprise... :D )
What's more, could you brew an Oil of Fog Cloud?
An Oil is activating by "applying" it. So if I throw the Oil, the bottle breaks and the Oil is "applied" to the square where it lands. Would this work? There's no rule stating that you can only apply Oils only to a living being (otherwise there would be no Oils of Bless Weapon).So, am I missing some rule against this or are Potions and Oil much more versatile than I ever thought?
Yes, the Brew Potion feat has the basics. The stipulation that Personal spells are out is an additional one in the Creating Magic Items chapter. It would be nice ig both were together in both places, however, for the sake of clarity.
You can create a potion of any 3rd-level or lower spell that you know and that targets one or more creatures.
Aarea effects like Fog Cloud are "out".
| reefwood |
A Potion or Oil can be made of any spell 3rd level or lower with a target that is not "personal". So you cold brew a Potion of Magic Missile? (labeling it as healing potion for a bad surprise... :D )
What's more, could you brew an Oil of Fog Cloud?
An Oil is activating by "applying" it. So if I throw the Oil, the bottle breaks and the Oil is "applied" to the square where it lands. Would this work? There's no rule stating that you can only apply Oils only to a living being (otherwise there would be no Oils of Bless Weapon).So, am I missing some rule against this or are Potions and Oil much more versatile than I ever thought?
Potions are imbibed. The drinker is treated as the target and caster. The rules seem to be a bit contradictory because they first say that the caster who brewed the potion makes decisions about the effect (i.e. not the drinker), but then later on in parenthesis, the rules say that the drinker controls the effect. Or maybe these two rules are talking about two different things? Even though to me it sounds like they are talking about the same thing - the effect of the potion.
Oils are applied externally to objects.
I supposed you could make a potion of bless weapon, but a weapon could not drink the potion. Additionally, a potion of cure light wounds would not work if you rubbed it on someone's skin.
I can't imagine that a potion or oil of magic missile would be legal by the rules, but I can't say where exactly the rules say this.
What I do know is that applying an oil is a standard action - probably because you need to rub the oil all over the object, so throwing it as a splash weapon would not adequately cover the target.
| Foghammer |
Can you apply an oil if inflict wounds to your hands then make a melee touch attack with it to release the spell on an enemy?
I think applying it to your hands would inflict light wounds on you...
The rules that note casters choosing effects of the spell: I think that means that if you cast some sort of energy resistance spell for a potion, then you choose the energy type upon the creation of the potion. For instance, you could create a potion of energy resistance (fire), but not just a generic spell whose energy type is selectable at the time of use.
A potion that allowed you to do something like breathe fire, however, would depend entirely on the imbiber to choose when to discharge the spell.
The above examples are made up and do not reflect research done on the topic. They are merely intended to provide conceptual evidence of an interpretation of the rules.
Starglim
|
A Potion or Oil can be made of any spell 3rd level or lower with a target that is not "personal". So you cold brew a Potion of Magic Missile? (labeling it as healing potion for a bad surprise... :D )
Yes, that would work if your enemy drank the potion.
What's more, could you brew an Oil of Fog Cloud?
An Oil is activating by "applying" it. So if I throw the Oil, the bottle breaks and the Oil is "applied" to the square where it lands. Would this work? There's no rule stating that you can only apply Oils only to a living being (otherwise there would be no Oils of Bless Weapon).
Applying an oil takes a standard action to smear the oil on the target (see the note on p. 478 about incorporeal creatures). Throwing an oil doesn't apply it. The oil just spills out with no effect.
Starglim
|
Can you apply an oil if inflict wounds to your hands then make a melee touch attack with it to release the spell on an enemy?
You can apply an oil of inflict light wounds to another creature as a standard action that provokes attacks of opportunity. It requires a touch attack if the target doesn't want the oil on him.
Russ Taylor
Contributor, RPG Superstar 2008 Top 6
|
You can apply an oil of inflict light wounds to another creature as a standard action that provokes attacks of opportunity. It requires a touch attack if the target doesn't want the oil on him.
Do you have a rules reference for that? The only rules reference I find to applying potions and oils to another creature is on page 478, and it's a full-round action for a helpless creature.
Starglim
|
Starglim wrote:You can apply an oil of inflict light wounds to another creature as a standard action that provokes attacks of opportunity. It requires a touch attack if the target doesn't want the oil on him.Do you have a rules reference for that? The only rules reference I find to applying potions and oils to another creature is on page 478, and it's a full-round action for a helpless creature.
Fair enough. The description on p. 477-478 doesn't seem to exclude using an appropriate oil on another creature, but it wouldn't make much sense if it's easier to apply an oil to a moving creature (other than yourself) than a helpless one.
| Khuldar |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Potions are imbibed. The drinker is treated as the target and caster. The rules seem to be a bit contradictory because they first say that the caster who brewed the potion makes decisions about the effect (i.e. not the drinker), but then later on in parenthesis, the rules say that the drinker controls the effect. Or maybe these two rules are talking about two different things? Even though to me it sounds like they are talking about the same thing - the effect of the potion.
I think this wording is so you need to make choices like what element is resisted when you brew the potion, but for spells like levitate the person who drank it gets to control their movement.
As for attack spells in potions, as long as it has a target, I think it's fine. Damage in a bottle! You can cast magic missile on yourself. The only time I see this being relevant is with people who trust labels or charm spells. You could just use poison though.
"I'm sorry my friends attacked you, here, drink this healing potion"