entangle spell clarification


Rules Questions


So, it seems to require plants to function, fair enough. Further question:

-If there's just one plant around, say a tree, does it still affect the whole area or only the space the plant also occupies?


kikkoman wrote:

So, it seems to require plants to function, fair enough. Further question:

-If there's just one plant around, say a tree, does it still affect the whole area or only the space the plant also occupies?

I'd be hard pressed to believe that a single little tree could entangle creatures up to 40 ft away from it. However, a very tall tree may have roots that go pretty far under the ground, and those could spring up to entangle creatures. I have no idea how far roots spread out, but you could try doing an internet search for basic info about it (i.e. maybe roots on most trees extend out 2 ft for every 5 ft of height...or 5 ft out for every 20 ft of weight ...or something like that).

However, a 5 ft patch of grass would probably only entangle creatures within that one square.

This is something that seems to definitely require DM discretion, but it also seems a bit unusual that a single tree would be growing without a single of plant around.


kikkoman wrote:

So, it seems to require plants to function, fair enough. Further question:

-If there's just one plant around, say a tree, does it still affect the whole area or only the space the plant also occupies?

DM's call. The tree should be able to lean over a bit, getting an area a bit bigger than the space its crown covers.

If you wanted a mechanical approach, you could say that the plants have reach equal to a normal creature of their size, so grass (tiny) only grabs things in that square, while a bush (small) or sapling (medium) has 5 feet of reach and a mighty oak would have 20 or even 30 feet of reach.


Such strange, literal interpretations...

We have always assumed the need for plant life to be a spring board for the spell rather than the actual element. Yeah, in the forest, you get lashed at by tree roots, in the fields it's grass roots or whatever, but we always figured that the roots are magically enhanced and grow rapidly to create the effect of the spell's function.

If there's plant life, you're good. Unless it's in a pot or some such. It has to be in the soil. I would even rule that it could be used on cobblestone streets, though with a diminished radius or reduced save DC. Plants are tenacious and can work their roots through small gaps when necessary.

To answer your question more directly: It affects the whole area. I disagree as well that if you cast entangle with a nearby tree that the size of the tree would affect the spell area and blah blah blah. That's entirely too much work and RAW says nothing about it. If there's any significant plant matter in the area that has roots that are bigger than a human hair (I wouldn't allow mosses, fungi, etc) then give them the full area.

The Exchange

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

ok, this is kind of an old post, but ... well here goes.

Is there any way to get a clearification on how this spell works? From my reading I would think (I guess this is my opinion so don't flame me please) that the spell does not grow plants at all.

if there are no plants there - no effect. Right?

I just had an entire table of 5 player and a Judge (in PFSOP) tell me that an Entangle cast in a tavern would "cause plants to erupt from the floor and grab anyone in the area of effect". I am afread I laughed (I thought they were kidding...). I stated that I disagreed - but the judge is the judge and "what you say goes".

Any way I read this spell I do not see it. Later in the adventure, the Entangle was cast in a building - in a room on the second floor. (I shouldn't grip about this, as it was the Judges way of avoiding a TPK - it was used to cover the players fleeing out of the building).

Personally, when I am the Judge, (my opinion again!) Entangle will only effect those plants that are all ready in existance. AND they don't move unless there is something there for them to grab! None of this (wiggles fingers in the air) stuff that I am told comes from a video game ("yeah, I've seen it dude - plants spring right up outta the ground and wiggle" fingers wave). So yes, this means I can walk into an entangle area without knowing it before the plants try to grab me (in the excitement of the moment, I have moved my character into an Entangle I had cast a few rounds before. Opps!)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The area portion of the spell says "plants in a 40-ft.-radius spread".

So, I think there does need to be plants in the area.

Maybe an argument could be made that wood counts as a plant.

Alternatively, it clearly says that foes in the area are wrapped in plants.

But the last paragraph implies it uses the plants that pre-existed, since otherwise you'd always have them be prickly.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / entangle spell clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions