Temporary negative levels and spellcasting


Rules Questions

The Exchange

5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required.
Quote:
The creature is also treated as one level lower for the purpose of level-dependent variables (such as spellcasting) for each negative level possessed. Spellcasters do not lose any prepared spells or slots as a result of negative levels.

So how do negative levels actually affect spellcasters?


Ok, just a friendly reminder but a search of the forums could have answered this without having another thread.

That said --

lets say you are a level 10 wizard -- you take 3 negative levels from an enervation spell.

Until those wear off:

You can still cast 5th level and lower spells, but when you do so you treat your caster level as 7 instead of 10.

As such if you were to cast cone of cold for example it would do 7d6 damage instead of 10d6 and your spell resistance check would be +7 instead of +10.


This really does need to FAQ'ed big time.. this question is asked a lot.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Temporary negative levels and spellcasting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.