Lance and mounted combat


Rules Questions


I had this discussion with one of my group members earlyer today about lances, and im a bit puzzled i must admit. As lances in the core book have reach, then when you charge with them while mounted, you will end up beeing 5 feet between you and the opponent. And since your horse, tiger or whatnot dont have reach it cant attack in the same charge action. I really hope im reading something wrong in the rules, like you can use a reach weapon in closerange while mounted or something, couse i think that would be a clear nerf to the mounted combat rules as i saw them. I mean the charging tiger can, at lvl 10, account for 50 or more dam, that you definately dont want to lose.

So can any1 tell me what im mistaking, or if this is understood correctly.


Note that if you have the feat Ride-By Attack, it may be possible for both you and your mount to attack by having the mount move 5' after your lance attack. But the mounted combat rules are a little hazy, IMO.


nicklas Læssøe wrote:
I had this discussion with one of my group members earlyer today about lances, and im a bit puzzled i must admit. As lances in the core book have reach, then when you charge with them while mounted, you will end up beeing 5 feet between you and the opponent.

Nope. You do not have to charge until you are right next to your opponent. By RAW you have to 1) head directly towards them and 2) make the attack from the first square that you can. For someone with a lance thats two squares away. This prevents your mount from attacking, but compared to the double damage you have its no big loss.

You must move before your attack, not after. You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and may move up to double your speed directly toward the designated opponent. If you move a distance equal to your speed or less, you can also draw a weapon during a charge attack if your base attack bonus is at least +1.

You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles). You must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent. If this space is occupied or otherwise blocked, you can't charge. If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can't charge. Helpless creatures don't stop a charge.

The bold should be what you're missing. Lances away.

There's another thread that basically came to the conclusion that as written, the ONLY point of ride-by attack is to get your mount to attack when you do. One of the developers suggested allowing ride by attack to skirt the "move directly at opponent" part so you could joust past people as the rules intended.


yah i completely understand the points, and that was also how i understood the rules, still it seems like complete idiocy. But anyway, i guess a cavalier with ride-by-attack will get his mounts charge too, but what a stupid semi exploit of the feat.


nicklas Læssøe wrote:
yah i completely understand the points, and that was also how i understood the rules, still it seems like complete idiocy. But anyway, i guess a cavalier with ride-by-attack will get his mounts charge too, but what a stupid semi exploit of the feat.

Its not an exploit. its a feat for an extra possible 3-4 pts of damage.

You really only want to run smack into the person if they're a spellcaster, that way they have to make a concentration check and can't 5 foot step away. ( if they're right next to you the horse threatens them, if they back up you threaten them with a lance) Against any melee type, you'd MUCH rather spirited charge them for 3x damage, ride off to the limit of your speed (without an AoO) be too far away for them to get to you, and then spirited charge them AGAIN on the next round. thats what he feat is supposed to let you do on ideal conditions. Its MUCH better for the rider than letting their mount get the hits in too.


yes i agree, but didnt you say that you couldnt run away, as you had to continue in a straight line, and would therefore stop after 5 feet of movement, and as you cant even run away you might aswell get close and let your mount hit him. Besides a charging tiger at lvl 10 mount does give around 40-50 DPR not only a coupple

Sovereign Court

Also you are considered to occupy any and all spaces of your mount so you could use the back square of a LG mount to establish range.


nicklas Læssøe wrote:
yes i agree, but didnt you say that you couldnt run away, as you had to continue in a straight line, and would therefore stop after 5 feet of movement, and as you cant even run away you might aswell get close and let your mount hit him. Besides a charging tiger at lvl 10 mount does give around 40-50 DPR not only a coupple

well, if you have a tiger then ride by attack is perfect for you. you attack out at 10 feet, continue the line of the charge smack into the badguy and then the tiger claws him to shreds. Rideby attack does this just fine. (it just doesn't do what its supposed to)

Liberty's Edge

Mad Alchemist wrote:
Also you are considered to occupy any and all spaces of your mount so you could use the back square of a LG mount to establish range.

The statement is: "For simplicity, assume that you share your mount's space during combat."

You are considered to occupy all of them as a matter of convenience. Not any of them, all of them. Your position is as if you are the size of the mount, not as if you are dancing around inside the footprint of the mount.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Lance and mounted combat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions