Duelist questions: TWF and Parry


Rules Questions


Hello everybody,
i found a lot of discussions regarding my questions but no one ends with a clear result.

I have two questions:

Question 1: How often can a duelist parry per round?
Answer A: Only one parry per round unaffected by available attacks.
Answer B: Affected by the number of available attacks.
Answer C: Something other because ...

Question 2: Can a duelist use TWF and his class features together?
Answer A: No TWF.
Answer B: Yes he can use TWF and his class features except precise strike.
Answer C: Something other because ...

Thanks alot!


I don't understand your problem, the rules are very clear. No need to torture the words...

Question 1:
Answer A: 1 parry. It is an immediate action and you cannot have more than one immediate action by round.

Question 2:
Answer B:
Nothing prevent you to wield a 2nd weapon in your off-hand. Most of Class feature need one-handed light or piercing weapon, no shield, and light or no armor.
If you make a full attack action with TWF, you cannot use Precise Strike.

Think this prestige class drew his inspiration from musketeer who may fight with two weapons i.e. the rapier and the "main gauche" (a big dagger used to parry and "finish" an ennemy)


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hmmm I wonder:

From precise strike
"When making a precise strike, a duelist cannot attack with a weapon in her other hand or use a shield."

From Parry
"Whenever the duelist takes a full attack action with a light or one-handed piercing weapon, she can elect not to take one of her attacks. "

If a duelist has only two weapon fighting (and not the improved or greater versions) and he uses Parry to not attack with her off hand, does it count as not 'attacking with a weapon in her other hand'. I would definately say that any actual attack with an off hand weapon would definately void precise strike, but I dont think based on the wording that a prepared parry would.

And it actually fits the duelist image very well. That style of fighting involved the dagger being used almost exclusively for parrying, and most of the time it was just the main weapon attacking in a fencing style that precise strike seems to imply.


Kolokotroni wrote:

If a duelist has only two weapon fighting (and not the improved or greater versions) and he uses Parry to not attack with her off hand, does it count as not 'attacking with a weapon in her other hand'. I would definately say that any actual attack with an off hand weapon would definately void precise strike, but I dont think based on the wording that a prepared parry would.

And it actually fits the duelist image very well. That style of fighting involved the dagger being used almost exclusively for parrying, and most of the time it was just the main weapon attacking in a fencing style that precise strike seems to imply.

It sounds great for me!

EDIT:
Nothing prevent you to use TWF (or greater version) with Parry class feature.

But, you could use TWF full attack action AND Precise Strike if you make just a parry with your off-hand weapon, and "forget" other attacks of your off-hand weapon (from improved or greater versions of TWF).
Precise Strike just say you cannot make an attack with a weapon off-hand, but as you say, Kolokotroni, Parry is not an "attack".
Rules are respected and spirit of fencing style too...


To consider the excellent answer of Kolokotroni, i modify my answers.

Question 1: How often can a duelist parry per round?
Answer A: Only one parry per round unaffected by available attacks.
It is an immediate action and you cannot have more than one immediate action by round.
You could use an attack of your off-hand weapon to make a Parry.

Question 2: Can a duelist use TWF and his class features together?
Answer B: Yes he can use TWF and his class features except precise strike.

Exception for Precise Strike and TWF:
If you use one attack of your off-hand weapon to make a parry and forget the others attacks (from improved, greater TWF or another source) of your off-hand weapon, you may use TWF full attack action and Precise Strike.
In fact, only the main one-handed weapon will make attacks and your off-hand weapon will only be used for one Parry (and NO attacks).


Sorry for my bad englisch. Your answers are good but now i have new questions.

Only one parry per round .. ok
TWF is possible .. ok

My new questions are:

Question1: Is parry an attack (unimportant if you attack with main or off hand)?
Answer A: No it is not an attack because you attack as immediate action outside your normal turn.
Answer B: Yes it is an attack because you role a dice and you hurt people if you use reposte at lvl5. It is like a readied attack.
Answer C: ..

Question2: Do i thread an area if i only parry ?


Eridan wrote:
Sorry for my bad englisch. Your answers are good but now i have new questions.

The same, i'm french.^^

Eridan wrote:

Question1: Is parry an attack (unimportant if you attack with main or off hand)?

Answer A: No it is not an attack because you attack as immediate action outside your normal turn.
Answer B: Yes it is an attack because you role a dice and you hurt people if you use reposte at lvl5. It is like a readied attack.
Answer C: ..

For spirit of "musketeer", parry is not an attack: an attack should harm or be able to do "damage" to an ennemy.

You make a confusion with AoO (Attack of Opportunity): Riposte allow a duelist to do an AoO on a successful Parry if this ennemy is within his reach of course.

Parry, a special power, use your Immediate Action (you have only one by round).
If you parry the strike, you can do one AoO too (it is not an immediate action, but you need have an AoO left available) as Riposte special power (it is a possibility not an obligation).
Parry and AoO are not the same things.

Parry= switch one attack of full attack action + use an immediate action if you or an adjacent ally is attacked.

Riposte= if parry successful then you may do an AoO
If parry has failed then NO Riposte.

Eridan wrote:
Question2: Do i thread an area if i only parry ?

To threaten an area, you just need a weapon wielded and ready (to strike). And an "AoO left available" of course.

You cannot threaten an area if you have no weapon (and not the feat Unarmed Strike) OR if you take Total Defense action (a standard action).
You may just "not attack" (because you don't want)or switch your attack for have the possibility to parry, and always be able to do AoO.


Defraeter wrote:
To threaten an area, you just need a weapon wielded and ready (to strike). And an "AoO left available" of course.

You still threaten even if you have taken all your AoOs for the round. You can't take a further AoO if something provokes, but you still threaten (to provide flanking, for example).


Grick wrote:
Defraeter wrote:
To threaten an area, you just need a weapon wielded and ready (to strike). And an "AoO left available" of course.

You still threaten even if you have taken all your AoOs for the round. You can't take a further AoO if something provokes, but you still threaten (to provide flanking, for example).

Oh yes, you're right! A little mistake. ^^

+1

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Duelist questions: TWF and Parry All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions