Touch spell question.


Rules Questions


Ok I'm playing a Kobold Sorc to Dragon disciple. If i cast chill touch and activate my claw ability; first is it only one claw with chill touch active? Second if i miss AC with the claw but i still hit the baddies touch AC would i lose the claw damage but still discharge the spell?

Any other suggestions for this concept cause playing a kobold usually won't measure up.


Ryan Richter wrote:

Ok I'm playing a Kobold Sorc to Dragon disciple. If i cast chill touch and activate my claw ability; first is it only one claw with chill touch active? Second if i miss AC with the claw but i still hit the baddies touch AC would i lose the claw damage but still discharge the spell?

Any other suggestions for this concept cause playing a kobold usually won't measure up.

A touch attack is a standard action, where you really just touch the target with, mostly your palm.

This does not add any damage from your claws, and or unarmed damage.

Silver Crusade

Skull wrote:
Ryan Richter wrote:

Ok I'm playing a Kobold Sorc to Dragon disciple. If i cast chill touch and activate my claw ability; first is it only one claw with chill touch active? Second if i miss AC with the claw but i still hit the baddies touch AC would i lose the claw damage but still discharge the spell?

Any other suggestions for this concept cause playing a kobold usually won't measure up.

A touch attack is a standard action, where you really just touch the target with, mostly your palm.

This does not add any damage from your claws, and or unarmed damage.

Seconded, and confirmed


Ryan Richter wrote:
Ok I'm playing a Kobold Sorc to Dragon disciple. If i cast chill touch and activate my claw ability; first is it only one claw with chill touch active?

Yup, pick a claw. You can't even cast it twice to get both of them, because casting another spell shuts off the touch spell.

Quote:
Second if i miss AC with the claw but i still hit the baddies touch AC would i lose the claw damage but still discharge the spell?

On the round of that you cast chill touch you cannot effectively attack with the claw. Casting chill touch (or any other touch spell) effectively gives you a melee TOUCH attack as a free action. You can move, cast the spell, and touch your opponent, you can cast the spell, move and then touch your opponent, or cast the spell touch your opponent and move (probably drawing an AoO). It doesn't let you claw them on the same round you cast chill touch.

You CAN claw people with the chill touch on on subsequent rounds: you can also do this with other touch spells if you miss the first time. You declare before you roll whether you want to make a touch attack or a regular attack.

If you make a regular attack an you miss then you miss completely.

If you make a touch attack you only need to hit their touch ac but don't get the claw damage.

Think of the difference between fencing and a real sword fight. In a sword fight you can't just touch your opponent anywhere, you need to swing and put some OMF into it, and hit them in a spot that's going to be effective. With fencing you can just tap them anywhere and you get the point. You're either putting in the omf or you're not.

Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/combat.html#unarmed-attacks

Quote:
Any other suggestions for this concept cause playing a kobold usually won't measure up.

Oh, you can find a lot of things to do with a kobold. I had mine walking around in livery that matched one of the other PC's colors, acting as a servant. When the fight started, the obviously cowardly and useless kobold servant would run and hide, ignored by the larger characters... and a round later start a barrage of fireballs and lightning bolts.


Ryan Richter wrote:

Any other suggestions for this concept cause playing a kobold usually won't measure up.

Of course you don't measure up. They're kobolds. They're nasty, brutish and short, just like their lives.

I guess if the GM lets you play a kobold, he won't mind letting you play an elite kobold, i.e. one with more generous traits.

I suggest changing the ability modifiers to +2 dex, +2 cha, -2 str (they are small and weak, but also nimble, and their ego's usually several size categories bigger then themselves)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Touch spell question. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions