midknight
|
Would it be correct (rules-wise) for a Dragon Disciple to make a full attack with a two-handed weapon, then drop it as a free action, grow claws and teeth as another free action and attack with all 3 of them as secondary natural attacks?
What about the other way round with quick draw? :-m
What about full attack with armor spikes, then 3 natural secondary attacks? :-m
| IkeDoe |
There are no limits to gameiness, so yes, why not.
You can make attacks with natural weapons in
combination with attacks made with a melee weapon and
unarmed strikes, so long as a different limb is used for
each attack. For example, you cannot make a claw attack
and also use that hand to make attacks with a longsword.
You aren't using a different limb for each attack, but who cares (I'm NOT being sarcastic), we are not going to argue about what those sentences mean.
I'm not sure about how it would work the other way round. I doubt you could wield a weapon with the claws and the Claws power doesn't state how to make your claws into hands again.
You can use armor spikes as the main weapon + natural *secondary* attacks, no problem, but armor spikes aren't good weapons.
| AvalonXQ |
Would it be correct (rules-wise) for a Dragon Disciple to make a full attack with a two-handed weapon, then drop it as a free action, grow claws and teeth as another free action and attack with all 3 of them as secondary natural attacks?
By RAW, no. As quoted above, a full attack action can only include limbs for natural attacks that are not already used for weapon attacks.
Christopher Woldridge
|
midknight wrote:Would it be correct (rules-wise) for a Dragon Disciple to make a full attack with a two-handed weapon, then drop it as a free action, grow claws and teeth as another free action and attack with all 3 of them as secondary natural attacks?By RAW, no. As quoted above, a full attack action can only include limbs for natural attacks that are not already used for weapon attacks.
Again using the quote above it looks like you should get the Bite but not the claws as you have already used those limbs to attack using the two handed weapon. If using a one handed weapon you would get a single claw and a bite. Many monsters follow this same pattern.
| Drejk |
I am not sure about it in PF, I think that was issue in 3.0 or 3.5.
You could not perform any other action in the middle of another action and still continue with first action. Free actions still remain action and thus require character to finish previous action to be made. Of course it is debatable issue and mostly ignored.
midknight
|
I am not sure about it in PF, I think that was issue in 3.0 or 3.5.
You could not perform any other action in the middle of another action and still continue with first action. Free actions still remain action and thus require character to finish previous action to be made. Of course it is debatable issue and mostly ignored.
Well, Quick Draw is also used for iterative attacks with thrown weapons so that should not make a difference...
Thanks to everyone for your answers and for clearing things up, I had missed that paragraph about not using the same limb twice... :-P
I like the full attack with one-handed weapon + 1 claw + 1 bite option, looks like marginally better than TWF and not too cheesey... :-m