Divine focus and arcane spellcaster


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Hello everybody.

I'm looking on a sorcerer with verdoyant bloodline. He learn a spell at level 3. This spell his entangled, a divine spell (ranger and druid). Entangled need a divine focus to be used, but my sorcerer is a arcane spellcaster. Does a divine focus already need, even he isn't a divine spellcaster?


Not digging through rules for this, but I would probably add some inane spell component like "bit of vine" or "roots from a weed".

Either that or your sorcerer could incorporate an "arcane focus" that he could use in place of a divine one. Something earthy like a piece of amber or a sliver of ironwood.


I'd probably treat it as a Focus of "sprig of holly", and have that as part of the spell component pouch.

Liberty's Edge

I would agree.

According to the PRD:

"Divine Focus (DF) : A divine focus component is an item of spiritual significance. The divine focus for a cleric or a paladin is a holy symbol appropriate to the character's faith. The divine focus for a druid or a ranger is a sprig of holly, or some other sacred plant.

If the Components line includes F/DF or M/DF, the arcane version of the spell has a focus component or a material component (the abbreviation before the slash) and the divine version has a divine focus component (the abbreviation after the slash)."

So, I would also treat an arcane caster casting the entangle spell as having either a focus (F) which is a sprig of holly, or some other sacred plant OR a material component (M) which is the same thing.


First Divine Focus is only need if the spell is cast as a Divine Spell not Arcane as a Sorcer.... Second on all Sorcer have Eschew Material Feat Base at Fist level.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Divine focus and arcane spellcaster All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions