Mounted Combat and Trick Riding


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

The feat Mounted combat says you can negate a hit against your mount with a ride check as an immediate action. The feat Trick Riding (from APG) says you can use a ride check to negate a hit twice per round. How exactly does that work with the fact that each use is an immediate action?

If you've already taken some other immediate action, can you still try to negate a hit? Could you do it once or twice in that case?

The simplest solution might be to let the ability to negate a hit not be an action but limited to once per round (then twice with Trick Riding).

Another solution might be to say that trick riding allows you to negate a hit with a ride check as a free action once per round - even when it's not your turn. In that case, to answer my own questions above, you could still negate a hit, but only once.

Has there been any clarification on this subject? What do others think?


It is hazy, but I interpreted it to mean that, once you've spent your immediate action, you negate two hits. Each attempt is not an immediate action, it's just an immediate action to activate the feat, so to speak. Once it's active, you get to pick two hits.

Messy, but it works.


Chris P. Bacon wrote:

It is hazy, but I interpreted it to mean that, once you've spent your immediate action, you negate two hits. Each attempt is not an immediate action, it's just an immediate action to activate the feat, so to speak. Once it's active, you get to pick two hits.

Messy, but it works.

I guess that could work, but what if the attacks happen at different points during the round?

You could get attacked by an enemy during their turn then provoke an AoO on your own turn due to movement. Would you still be able to prevent both? I guess you'd just have to remember to keep track during the round.


Hurm, that's a good question. I'd say that you can make that second attempt up until you get another swift/immediate action, but that answer doesn't satisfy me. It really does need rewording.

It should probably be worded in one of two ways:

1. Either it becomes a free action that you can simply use twice per round, or

2. If you have already used Mounted Combat as an immediate action, you can use it one more time as a free action that round.


I don't see why the feat has to use an immediate action in the first place. Once per round is all the restriction it needs. It's not like cleave uses an immediate action every time you get a new swing, nor are attacks of opportunity immediate actions.

Maybe Trick Riding's worth truly is how it sounds...
RAW: If your mount gets attacked and hit before your turn, your immediate action is used. If after your turn, where you now can use an immediate action again, your mount is attacked and hit again, you can use it again.

Granted, once this occurs, you will never benefit from this feat again until your mount stops getting hit for a round. They should just errata out the use of immediate actions for these kinds of feats.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mounted Combat and Trick Riding All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions