Brooch of Shielding and Evoker's Force Missile, Arcane Bond and Armor Spell Casting Penalty


Rules Questions


Hi everybody,
two "magical" questions:

1) does the brooch of shielding absorb damages also from Evoker's Force Missiles, similar to Magic Missiles?
2) If a wizard/thief in leather armor casts a spell using the daily capability of his Arcane Bonded Ring, does he have to roll for the chance of losing the spell because of the Armor Penalty (10%, if I'm not wrong)?

Many thanks, and thanks again for the quickness of your answers also to my other threads, they are really helpful!
V


1) No. The only ways that it is similar is: a) it automatically hits; and b) it is a force effect.

2) Yes. There's nothing in the Arcane Bond section that implies that you aren't subject to ACP.

Grand Lodge

vale73 wrote:

Hi everybody,

two "magical" questions:

1) does the brooch of shielding absorb damages also from Evoker's Force Missiles, similar to Magic Missiles?
2) If a wizard/thief in leather armor casts a spell using the daily capability of his Arcane Bonded Ring, does he have to roll for the chance of losing the spell because of the Armor Penalty (10%, if I'm not wrong)?

Many thanks, and thanks again for the quickness of your answers also to my other threads, they are really helpful!
V

1/

*brooch mention "absorb magic missile from spell or spell-like ability"
*evoker's missile mention "as magic missile" (but is it for the missile itself or the striking???)
I'd say yes, it stops it

2/ arcane bond says "This spell is treated like any other spell cast by the wizard" so again, I'd say : ASF apply


1) The evoker's Force Missile works like Magic Missile and is a SLA, so the Brooch of Shielding aborbs it for me.

2) Yes ASF apply


Noir le Lotus wrote:
1) The evoker's Force Missile works like Magic Missile and is a SLA, so the Brooch of Shielding aborbs it for me.

*edit* On further reading of the brooch's description, Lotus has it.


On further thought, this is not as clear cut as i presumed.

Yes, Force missile is a SLA, but it's a Force missile, not a Magic Missile.

I think why it's got the proviso of SLA in the Brooch's entry is for monsters/(and Rogues in PF) who have Magic Missile as a SLA.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Brooch of Shielding and Evoker's Force Missile, Arcane Bond and Armor Spell Casting Penalty All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions