Full Attacks


Rules Questions


The situation: Human Fighter level six (BAB is +6/+1).
Feats include Two-Weapon Fighting, Improved Two-Weapon Fighting, and Quick Draw.
Equipment includes Long Sword and Dagger (both held and ready), Hand Axe (sheathed), Short Bow (stored on his back, essentially sheathed), a quiver full of arrows, and Armor Spikes.
During the previous round he used a full attack action to swing once with his longsword, then took a five foot step, then took a second swing with his longsword.

Why he didn't he take advantage of his two-weapon fighting feats last round, I don't know, but that was his choice. He has a full-attack action this round, maybe he'll choose to use them this time. Anyway, here are my rules questions. Short 1-word answers such as YES or NO are best, but feel free to explain the answers at length.

Q0: Can he take two swings with his longsword (and no other attacks), counting them as two main attacks with full strength bonus on each?

Ok, this is a gimme: obviously YES because that's exactly what he did last round.

Q1: Can he take two swings with his dagger (and no other attacks), counting them as two main attacks with full strength bonus on each?

Q2: Can he take one swing with his longsword and one with his dagger (and no other attacks) counting both as main attacks with full strength bonus on each?

Q3: Can he use two weapon fighting to take two swings with his longsword (full str bonus) and two swings with his dagger (half str bonus since for off-hand attacks).

Q4: Can he take one swing with the longsword, then drop the dagger on the ground (free action), drop the longsword on the ground (free action), draw the shortbow (free action), nock an arrow (free action), take a five-foot step, and then fire the bow as his second normal attack?

Q5: Can he use two weapon fighting to take one swing with the longsword (full str bonus), two swings with the dagger (half str bonus on each), and then drop the longsword on the ground (free action), draw the hand axe (free action), and attack with the hand axe as his second normal attack?

Q6: Can he use two weapon fighting to take one swing with the longsword (full str bonus), two swings with the dagger (half str bonus on each), and then drop the dagger on the ground (free action), drop the longsword on the ground (free action), draw the shortbow (free action), nock an arrow (free action), and fire the bow as his second normal attack?

Q7: Can he use two weapon fighting to take two swings with his longsword (full str bonus each), then two off-hand attacks with his armor spikes (half str bonus each), not using his dagger at all?

Q8: Can he use two weapon fighting to take two swings with his longsword (full str bonus each), then one off-hand attack with his dagger (half str bonus), then one off-hand attack with his armor spikes (half str bonus)?

Q9: Can he use two weapon fighting to take one swing with his longsword (full str bonus), then one off-hand attack with his dagger (half str bonus), then one main attack with his armor spikes (full str bonus), then one off-hand attack with his armor spikes (half str bonus)?


I'm not exactly a melee-expert (prefering spellcasters myself) but I'll give it a try:

Q0 Yes

Q1 Yes. Note that there are no rules for being either right- or left-handed in Pathfinder. As long as you only attack with one hand in any given round, this hand is your main hand.

Q2 No. As soon as you use both hands in any combination, one (of your choice) is the off-hand, which means dual-wield penalties for all attacks and only half strength bonus to damage with the off-hand.

Q3 Yes. That's what Two-Weapon Fighting is meant to do.

Q4 Don't know, to be honest. There's nothing in the rules against this as far as I know but I don't think I would allow it. Can't give you a reason besides my strange feeling about it, though. It's probably about the shortbow being a 2handed weapon. I might allow it with a thrown 1handed weapon.

Q5 Yes.

Q6 No. Again, there's nothing in the rules against this as far as I know, but this I would definitely NOT allow. I mean, what wouldkeep him from using a Greatsword instead of the shortbow next time?

Q7-Q9 I don't really know how armor spikes work exactly. I'm more the light or no armor type, myself. Sorry.


Q2 - Not sure that Blave is completely correct as you are not gaining the benefit of two weapon fighting.
Q3 - no you need improved two weapon fighting to get the second dagger attack
Q4 - Yes, requires quick draw though.
Q5 - He needs improved two weapon fighting, and if the dagger is the main attack then the long sword is off hand and you take -4 penalties to all attacks so should probably have the long sword be the main weapon -- also requires quick draw.
Q6 - Same as Q4 and Q5 combined.
Q 7~9 -- basically yes to all provided the above (quick draws, or improved two weapon fighting as needed).


Outl wrote:

The situation: Human Fighter level six (BAB is +6/+1).

Feats include Two-Weapon Fighting, Improved Two-Weapon Fighting, and Quick Draw.
Equipment includes Long Sword and Dagger (both held and ready), Hand Axe (sheathed), Short Bow (stored on his back, essentially sheathed), a quiver full of arrows, and Armor Spikes.

;-)


Q0/Q1: Yes and No. He will need the feat Double Slice to gain his full strength bonus on the offhand weapon. The long swords are at a larger penalty than the daggers for two weapon fighting.

Q2: Yes. He may make the second off hand attack because of the feat Improved Two-Weapon Fighting.

Q3: Yes. He may use any combination of two one handed or light weapons.

Q4: No. Free actions may not interrupt other actions. Only immediate actions in certain cases can do so.

Q5: No. Like Q4 drawing a weapon even with quick draw is a free action and cannot interrupt his full round action to attack.

Q6: No. See previous.

Q7: Yes. Armor and shield, spikes are treated like any other weapon.

Q8: No. That would be multi-weapon fighting. The two-weapon fighting series of feats works with only two weapons not three.

Q9: No. See previous.


ntin wrote:

Q5: No. Like Q4 drawing a weapon even with quick draw is a free action and cannot interrupt his full round action to attack.

Could you tell me where in the rules it is stated that free actions can't be used during another action ??


I doubt there is a rule stating that rather there is no rule that saying a free action may interrupt another action already in process.

Page 181
Full-Round Action: A full-round action consumes all your effort during a round. The only movement you can take during a full-round action is a 5-foot step before, during, or after the action. You can also perform free actions and swift actions (see below). See Table 8–2 for a list of full-round actions. Some full-round actions do not allow you to take a 5-foot step. Some full-round actions can be taken as standard actions, but only in situations when you are limited to performing only a standard action during your round. The descriptions of specific actions detail which actions allow this option.

Page 181-182
Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM.

Page 182
Swift Action: A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. You can perform only a single swift action per turn.

I think the confusion is that you may still take swift or free actions in a round that a full round action is performed it does not allow you to interrupt a full round action. If for example a character is going to shoot his longbow while next to a foe, that would provoke an attack of opportunity which is one of the few actions that may interrupt the action order of another character’s action.

Modus Tollens (I think that is the one).


The five foot step specifically states you can perform it during other actions.

Also:

Rules wrote:

Page 181-182

Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Full Attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions