Question


Round 1: Magus


Quandary wrote:

Can the Magus cast a (Touch) Spell and hold it`s Charge and then on a later turn/ action release the effect with the same Standard Attack Action used for a Melee attack? (not using Spell Combat Concentration Check because there is no simultaneous Casting, just Touch Attack delivery via off-hand) Would that just be covered via 2WF rules? Would non-Touch Spells be eligible?

Likewise, can it Ready a Standard Action including a Melee Attack AND a Spellcasting (and delivery if needed), along with a 5´step? E.g. Ready an Attack for an enemy coming into range, then Cast Invisibility and 5´step away?

As far as I have read:

a1. Yes you can hold a charge after casting and next round use it for an attack or Spellstrike.
a2. Yes, you can combine as touch attack (if holding charge) with a melee attack (from BAB or TWfing).
No, you could only sub attacks for attacks.

Example after casting chill touch and weilding a longsword:
Next round, You could with 6 BAB use chill touch then longsword next round. That would be two attacks.
Or
2 attacks with longsword (Bab attacks) and use Chill touch with offhand. But you'd have to declare using TWFing and accepting penalties.

b. You can only ready Standard action I believe so you have to choose Melee attack or Spellcasting.

Note: I've not read pathfinder extensively for differences between 3.5 and pathfinder so it may ot may not work if rules are vastly different in those areas.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Ultimate Magic Playtest / Round 1: Magus / Question All Messageboards
Recent threads in Round 1: Magus
Board closed