[APG] Lore Oracle, Arcane Archivist (Su) question


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

The Arcane Archivist (Su) revelation states:

  • "Your experience with lore-filled
    tomes has granted you the ability to cast arcane spells as
    if they were on your spell list. Once per day, you can cast
    a spell from the sorcerer/wizard spell list as if it were on
    your list of spells known. The spell consumes a spell slot
    one level higher than the level of the spell. You must have
    a spellbook containing the spell to cast it in this way, and
    the spell is erased when you complete the casting."

Can "the spell is erased" be clarified? Is it gone for the rest of that day, or gone from the spellbook for good? If the latter, it doesn't seem like that useful of an ability unless you have a wizard on retainer to continue to scribe new spells into a spellbook for you...

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Same question- would an oracle character need to keep a blessed book and a wizard on retainer? ^_^;

Contributor

Erased means erased. It's gone.

However, keep in mind that scribing spells into a book is VERY cheap in Pathfinder; even an 8th-level spell is only 640 gp. So, by the time you could use this ability on 8th-level spells (requiring a 9th-level spell slot, thus a level 18 oracle), it's chump change (an 18th-level oracle PC has 530k gp). By comparison, an 8th-level scroll is 3,000 gp.

Liberty's Edge RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32, 2011 Top 16

Not to mention that it's a pretty good use for captured enemy spellbooks after a party wizard has copied what he wants into their own books.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / [APG] Lore Oracle, Arcane Archivist (Su) question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions