Shield of Swings and Two Weapon Defense: Legal for Quarterstaff Monk?


Rules Questions


Would it be legal for a monk to use the feats shield of swings and two weapon defense if they wield a quarterstaff?


I would say probably, but not at the same time. They both grant a shield bonus to AC which would not stack, you would take the better one.


For Shield of Swings you need to be wielding a two-handed weapon, not a double weapon.


Quaterstaff is a double weapon so it can be used as
1) double weapon with rules of TWF
OR
2) two-handed weapon (and choose which side use to strike)
OR
3) one-handed weapon (and choose the side...)

You can use the 2 feats for quaterstaff but NOT together
two weapon defense.........if you use quaterstaff as double weapon

shield of swings..........if you use quaterstaff as two-handed weapon


Tanis wrote:
For Shield of Swings you need to be wielding a two-handed weapon, not a double weapon.

A quarterstaff is a two-handed weapon. All published double weapons to this date are two-handed weapons.


Yeah i know Burka, but OP was asking if shield of swings and two weapon defense work together.

Are you saying they do synergise?

*edit* +1 Defraeter.


Tanis wrote:

Yeah i know Burka, but OP was asking if shield of swings and two weapon defense work together.

Are you saying they do synergise?

*edit* +1 Defraeter.

They both provide shield bonuses, so there's no way in hell they're going to stack. I just tried to clarify that quarterstaff is a two-handed weapon and thus shield of swings works, since your post seemed to indicate quarterstaff was not a two-handed weapon.


But for the question under the question...
Are these 2 feats allowed with flurry of blows?

No
1) flurry of blows is not compatible with two-weapon fighting (J Jacobs answer this question on a topic)
2) flurry of blows is a special full-round AS if using two-weapon fighting, so no two-handed attack allowed


Defraeter wrote:

But for the question under the question...

Are these 2 feats allowed with flurry of blows?

No
1) flurry of blows is not compatible with two-weapon fighting (J Jacobs answer this question on a topic)
2) flurry of blows is a special full-round AS if using two-weapon fighting, so no two-handed attack allowed

1) I don't see this. It doesn't stack with two-weapon fighting since it's like two-weapon fighting. When an ability simulates a feat, I think it's fair to assume it works like that feat except where otherwise mentioned. It would still require the feat, so I don't think it would ever be worth the investment, though.

2) This simply isn't true. Nothing prevents you from attacking with a two-handed weapon when two-weapon fighting, there's several other circumstances where you can do this (two-hander and unarmed strike via kick, two-hander and spiked armor etc). It's just that the most common form of two-weapon fighting includes using both hands, which limits the ability to use two-handed weapons other than double weapons. And even when using a double weapon for two-weapon fighting, it's still a two-handed weapon.


stringburka wrote:


1) I don't see this. It doesn't stack with two-weapon fighting since it's like two-weapon fighting. When an ability simulates a feat, I think it's fair to assume it works like that feat except where otherwise mentioned. It would still require the feat, so I don't think it would ever be worth the investment, though.

2) This simply isn't true. Nothing prevents you from attacking with a two-handed weapon when two-weapon fighting, there's several other circumstances where you can do this (two-hander and unarmed strike via kick, two-hander and spiked armor etc). It's just that the most common form of two-weapon fighting includes using both hands, which limits the ability to use two-handed weapons other than double weapons. And even when using a double weapon for two-weapon fighting, it's still a two-handed weapon.

You are right and me wrong!! +1 ;)

Go too fast is not good...

1) 2 feats to have a +1 shield bonus... not a good deal (not stackable with 2))

2) effectively, a weapon wielded in both hand may be part of Flurry of blows (but damage is at full strenght, not x1,5)
So you can use feat Shield of Swings if you use one attack during Furry with a staff as two-handed weapon for instance.


Defraeter wrote:


2) effectively, a weapon wielded in both hand may be part of Flurry of blows (but damage is at full strenght, not x1,5)
So you can use feat Shield of Swings if you use one attack during Furry with a staff as two-handed weapon for instance.

Why would the strength bonus not be x1.5? I'm not sure on this, but I see no indication in the rules for it.

"Two-Handed: Two hands are required to use a two-handed melee weapon effectively. Apply 1-1/2 times the character's Strength bonus to damage rolls for melee attacks with such a weapon. " - Weapons section

"If you wield a second weapon in your off hand, you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon. You suffer a –6 penalty with your regular attack or attacks with your primary hand and a –10 penalty to the attack with your off hand when you fight this way. You can reduce these penalties in two ways. First, if your off-hand weapon is light, the penalties are reduced by 2 each. An unarmed strike is always considered light. Second, the Two-Weapon Fighting feat lessens the primary hand penalty by 2, and the off-hand penalty by 6.

Table: Two-weapon Fighting Penalties summarizes the interaction of all these factors.

Double Weapons: You can use a double weapon to make an extra attack with the off-hand end of the weapon as if you were fighting with two weapons. The penalties apply as if the off-hand end of the weapon was a light weapon." - Two-weapon fighting section

I see no indication the strength bonus would be lessened. I'm not even sure it would be reduced if the weapon is used as a double weapon, but that's debatable because of:

"Double Weapons: Dire flails, dwarven urgroshes, gnome hooked hammers, orc double axes, quarterstaves, and two-bladed swords are double weapons. A character can fight with both ends of a double weapon as if fighting with two weapons, but he incurs all the normal attack penalties associated with two-weapon combat, just as though the character were wielding a one-handed weapon and a light weapon."
Now, I could see it being argued that damage would be reduced here, since you "incur all the normal attack penalties associated with two-weapon combat just as though he were wielding a one-handed and a light weapon." However, I can also see it being argued that the text specifies that he takes the penalties associated with two-weapon fighting and that 1.5 times strength bonus is a function of weapon size, not how many you wield.

I'm fairly certain at least, that a character wielding a greatsword and using armor spikes get +1,5xstr to damage with the greatsword and 0.5xStr to damage with the armor spikes. I could definately be wrong, but would like a rules reference for this.


stringburka wrote:
Defraeter wrote:


2) effectively, a weapon wielded in both hand may be part of Flurry of blows (but damage is at full strenght, not x1,5)
So you can use feat Shield of Swings if you use one attack during Furry with a staff as two-handed weapon for instance.
Why would the strength bonus not be x1.5? I'm not sure on this, but I see no indication in the rules for it.

p 57 core rulebook Flurry of Blows (4th parag)

"...A monk apply his full strength bonus...whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands..."

Only valid for Flurry of Blows


Defraeter wrote:
stringburka wrote:
Defraeter wrote:


2) effectively, a weapon wielded in both hand may be part of Flurry of blows (but damage is at full strenght, not x1,5)
So you can use feat Shield of Swings if you use one attack during Furry with a staff as two-handed weapon for instance.
Why would the strength bonus not be x1.5? I'm not sure on this, but I see no indication in the rules for it.

p 57 core rulebook Flurry of Blows (4th parag)

"...A monk apply his full strength bonus...whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands..."

Only valid for Flurry of Blows

Oh, that was an obvious place for it. Thanks!


Defraeter wrote:

Quaterstaff is a double weapon so it can be used as

1) double weapon with rules of TWF
OR
2) two-handed weapon (and choose which side use to strike)
OR
3) one-handed weapon (and choose the side...)

You can use the 2 feats for quaterstaff but NOT together
two weapon defense.........if you use quaterstaff as double weapon

shield of swings..........if you use quaterstaff as two-handed weapon

I do not believe the bolded portion is correct. There is nothing in the double weapon description, or anywhere else that I can find, that allows a double weapon to be wielded in one hand. Even if you strike with just one end, you are still using a two-handed weapon.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shield of Swings and Two Weapon Defense: Legal for Quarterstaff Monk? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions