Oracle with Heavens Mystery Question


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Lets say the oracle has the Lame curse. Then you take the revelation Lure of the Heavens. At level 5, it says you can hover above the ground. Does this ability not provide any forward locomotion and only have you hover in one spot or do you move along hovering like a spirit?

Dark Archive

Shar Tahl wrote:
Lets say the oracle has the Lame curse. Then you take the revelation Lure of the Heavens. At level 5, it says you can hover above the ground. Does this ability not provide any forward locomotion and only have you hover in one spot or do you move along hovering like a spirit?

The second one.

Liberty's Edge

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Lure of the Heavens (Su): Your connection to the skies above is so strong that your feet barely touch the ground. At 1st level, you no longer leave tracks. At 5th level, you can hover up to 6 inches above the ground or even above liquid surfaces, as if levitating. At 10th level, you gain the ability to fly, as per the spell, for a number of minutes per day equal to your oracle level. This duration does not need to be consecutive, but it must be spent in 1-minute increments.

Here is the total description of the Revelation.

It does not say "As the spell", so it's not certain if it has the same constraints. Levitate spell has no horizontal motion. I just need to be sure I am not using the abilities wrong.


With the as if levitating I wouldn't allow horizontal movement. But honestly the levitate spell has been seriously nerfed from where it started at. Currently it's little better than "create ladder in the middle of nowhere".

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Going by the fact that it is a 6 inch levitation, I would think it had some horizontal component to it

Liberty's Edge

I would treat it as a height-limited air-walk.


I don't disagree with that idea -- but it says as if levitating, and the only place levitating appears in the game is the levitate spell. As such that's the only place to pull a reference from.

Again as a "what would I want/expect from this" I would agree that some horizontal movement would be nice.

But from a RAW perspective it's not there.

Liberty's Edge

If it has no horizontal movement, it seems 99% useless with the 6 inch limitation. the 1% being a character afraid of drowning not landing in water


I would treat the levitate similar to the levitate spell that allows you to walk on walls and even ceilings similar to spider climb but with more restrictions.

Liberty's Edge

I was hoping a Dev would chime in on this. I put a FAQ flag up, but I don't know how effective that would be.

Liberty's Edge

Shar Tahl wrote:

Lure of the Heavens (Su): Your connection to the skies above is so strong that your feet barely touch the ground. At 1st level, you no longer leave tracks. At 5th level, you can hover up to 6 inches above the ground or even above liquid surfaces, as if levitating. At 10th level, you gain the ability to fly, as per the spell, for a number of minutes per day equal to your oracle level. This duration does not need to be consecutive, but it must be spent in 1-minute increments.

Here is the total description of the Revelation.

It does not say "As the spell", so it's not certain if it has the same constraints. Levitate spell has no horizontal motion. I just need to be sure I am not using the abilities wrong.

The bolded part *implies* that you can still move while lure of heavens is in effect. . . hence, it still has a horizontal component. Without movement, you wouldn't leave tracks anyway.

I would houserule that someone with this revelation could move their base speed at whatever height appropriate to their level.


At first level you no longer leave tracks... while walking. It doesn't state that you can move while levitating, and the only reference doesn't allow such movement, and I would point out that if you aren't on the ground -- and you aren't moving -- then you definitely are not leaving tracks.

Liberty's Edge

Abraham spalding wrote:

I don't disagree with that idea -- but it says as if levitating, and the only place levitating appears in the game is the levitate spell. As such that's the only place to pull a reference from.

Again as a "what would I want/expect from this" I would agree that some horizontal movement would be nice.

But from a RAW perspective it's not there.

would have to agree by RAW. would house rule it to forward move i min/level like fly. basicly let you avoid difficult terain, but as a new gm for pfs wish was better explained.

Liberty's Edge

The obvious intent is that you hover above the ground while walking- you still move, but your feet don't touch the ground.

The rules seem to fall short here.


cfalcon wrote:

The obvious intent is that you hover above the ground while walking- you still move, but your feet don't touch the ground.

The rules seem to fall short here.

Unfortunately with where the question has been place the rules are what we go with until we hear otherwise from the higher authorities.

Scarab Sages

So then this begs the question, assuming you could cast it anyhow, but what if you had an unseen servant push you along horizontally? Since the unseen servant has a base move of 15', common sense would dictate that it could push you at least that far, right?

Liberty's Edge

Abraham spalding wrote:
cfalcon wrote:

The obvious intent is that you hover above the ground while walking- you still move, but your feet don't touch the ground.

The rules seem to fall short here.

Unfortunately with where the question has been place the rules are what we go with until we hear otherwise from the higher authorities.

You mean *you* follow the rules until you hear otherwise from the higher authorities. I only follow the rules until I have a reason not to, and this would be one of those cases.


Huh. I never thought of it that way, where you don't move and all. I figured the levitation effect was more or less continuous, and that you'd have to be able to move horizontally because of that.

*Looking up text*

Yeah, if anything, they may need to make the occasional "step" to push themselves along. However, since they don't need to be on the ground, just a surface will do, I figure they can just move as they like horizontally.


The levitate effect imo is very badly written. It says you "can" hover, not that you HAVE to and it doesn't put a time limit on the effect. I could argue that this implies you can move horizontally since it is an unending effect, but the GMs I know look at the word "hover" and that's the end of the conversation.

I'll admit I'm looking for the opportunity to fling a grappling hook on a boat and waterski behind it. lol

I'd also like to see the feather fall interpretation spelled out. I don't think my GMs will buy that argument since it is not explicitly stated.

I would love to see a FAQ that clarifies what is intended here.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I have taken it as always hovering, but in order to move horizontally you have to walk. So the curse still applies here.

Grand Lodge

Okay, I know mentioning this will likely get some angry responses, but this is a 2 year old thread.

Respond accordingly.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Oracle with Heavens Mystery Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions