Nondruid pets


Rules Questions


are there any rules for having a pet that's not an animal companion? if a ranger gets a new animal companion, can they keep the old one as a pet


vash wrote:
are there any rules for having a pet that's not an animal companion? if a ranger gets a new animal companion, can they keep the old one as a pet

what do you mean by pet ?

you can buy a pet like a horse for a couple of gold and its nothing more than an animal that you can manipulate with the handle animal skill.


would a ranger animal companion lose all its tricks if it stopped being your companion? it seems broken to allow it to be kept as a pet with all the same tricks, unless the advancement is worth more than i think.


vash wrote:
would a ranger animal companion lose all its tricks if it stopped being your companion? it seems broken to allow it to be kept as a pet with all the same tricks, unless the advancement is worth more than i think.

A Ranger has one companion.

If he gets a new one, the old one is either dead, or has been dismissed.
So he cant have the new one and the old one simultaneously, even as a 'pet'.

A Ranger CAN get an additional 'Pet' by taking the Leadership Feat and getting a Follower+Cohort.

A Ranger may also tame and train a wild animal (Charm+Animal Empathy+Handle Animal), and have it as a 'Pet'.

So theoretically a Ranger can be juggling three different sorts of 'Pets' that each require their own considerations.


Shifty wrote:
vash wrote:
would a ranger animal companion lose all its tricks if it stopped being your companion? it seems broken to allow it to be kept as a pet with all the same tricks, unless the advancement is worth more than i think.

A Ranger has one companion.

If he gets a new one, the old one is either dead, or has been dismissed.
So he cant have the new one and the old one simultaneously, even as a 'pet'.

A Ranger CAN get an additional 'Pet' by taking the Leadership Feat and getting a Follower+Cohort.

A Ranger may also tame and train a wild animal (Charm+Animal Empathy+Handle Animal), and have it as a 'Pet'.

So theoretically a Ranger can be juggling three different sorts of 'Pets' that each require their own considerations.

so would you allow a dismissed companion to be kept as a pet if the spell and checks were made?


vash wrote:
Shifty wrote:
vash wrote:
would a ranger animal companion lose all its tricks if it stopped being your companion? it seems broken to allow it to be kept as a pet with all the same tricks, unless the advancement is worth more than i think.

A Ranger has one companion.

If he gets a new one, the old one is either dead, or has been dismissed.
So he cant have the new one and the old one simultaneously, even as a 'pet'.

A Ranger CAN get an additional 'Pet' by taking the Leadership Feat and getting a Follower+Cohort.

A Ranger may also tame and train a wild animal (Charm+Animal Empathy+Handle Animal), and have it as a 'Pet'.

So theoretically a Ranger can be juggling three different sorts of 'Pets' that each require their own considerations.

so would you allow a dismissed companion to be kept as a pet if the spell and checks were made?

no

the animal companion ability was not meant to be a way of collecting animals for free

if you want other animals you can legitimately find them in the forrest and tame them or buy them from the market for gold.


Yes but it would lose all the abilities (including tricks) it recieved from being the ranger's animal companion. Those abilities are basically the ranger's to give to one companion -- none of them stick around if the animal is no longer the ranger's companion.


i forgot that companions can share spells. maybe that's what the real value of a companion is.


Abraham spalding wrote:
Yes but it would lose all the abilities (including tricks) it recieved from being the ranger's animal companion. Those abilities are basically the ranger's to give to one companion -- none of them stick around if the animal is no longer the ranger's companion.

this implies that tricks do not have to be taught to a companion. are you sure?

it also seems one could have an army of pets they catch and tame.


vash wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
Yes but it would lose all the abilities (including tricks) it recieved from being the ranger's animal companion. Those abilities are basically the ranger's to give to one companion -- none of them stick around if the animal is no longer the ranger's companion.

this implies that tricks do not have to be taught to a companion. are you sure?

it also seems one could have an army of pets they catch and tame.

it might seem that way but a GM is no going to allow you to use this ability to create an animal hoarde for yourself.

the same way he wouldn't allow a wizard to make a clever use of unlimited cantrips to make unlimited money.

he might allow you to gain 1-2 pets doing this becuase you could legitimately buy or find 1-2 animal pets and train them. but not an army.


vash wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
Yes but it would lose all the abilities (including tricks) it recieved from being the ranger's animal companion. Those abilities are basically the ranger's to give to one companion -- none of them stick around if the animal is no longer the ranger's companion.

this implies that tricks do not have to be taught to a companion. are you sure?

it also seems one could have an army of pets they catch and tame.

Sure an army that then reverts to normal each time you grab a new pet.

Basically as long as the ranger keeps paying attention and working with his animal companion constantly it keeps the bonuses. It's this constant attention that keeps the AC at the higher states. If the ranger (or indeed druid) were to turn his attentions to a new animal the old AC would lose it's bonuses as it is neglected by the ranger (who is too busy with the new animal teaching it all the new things it's learning).

So lets say you have a wolf, and at 10th level you decide to change to a tiger. The wolf would lose it's bonuses, and the tiger would start gaining a bunch of abilities (as per the animal companion rules for your effective animal level).

Now the wolf might still like you, and might still listen to you. But it basically becomes an NPC regular old wolf. It doesn't carry over anything you trained because you aren't spending that extra "something" to keep it at such an elite level.

Dark Archive

I see no reason why a reasonable DM wouldn't allow you to keep your old companion as a pet. In fact I would go ahead and comp all the feats you taught it as companion but handle animal is still going to be the way you control it and communicate with the animal. You are going to have to look up the stats for its base animal in the bestiary and it will then become THAT version. This means you basically have to rebuild it, feats, skills and all. It is a bit of work but I think it is worth it.


but there's no limit on how many horses a fighter can have. it makes no sense a ranger would no longer be able to control a wolf if he makes the handle check.


vash wrote:
but there's no limit on how many horses a fighter can have. it makes no sense a ranger would no longer be able to control a wolf if he makes the handle check.

And no one is saying you cant buy a pack of wolves (except your GM, who may or may not allow it for various reasons).

He'd be using his Handle Animal skill to train and develop 'non magical/non enhanced' wolves; his 'old wolf' is no longer around/enhanced.


Abraham spalding wrote:
Yes but it would lose all the abilities (including tricks) it recieved from being the ranger's animal companion. Those abilities are basically the ranger's to give to one companion -- none of them stick around if the animal is no longer the ranger's companion.

That's what I'd do, too. You can keep it around as a pet, but it will be a common or garden animal, not a super-pet with extra HD and all sorts of goodies.

I see no problem with a druid or ranger taking a new animal companion but staying "on good terms" with the old one. Some may even change their companions on a regular basis and care for the animals that went into danger with them before.

Of course, if someone were to try and abuse this in order to gain a lot of trained animals quickly, the GM would probably step in and show that person that RPGs are adjudicated by a real, thinking person in a very impressive way (maybe by all the animals turning on the suddenly powerless druid or ranger and tearing him to shreds)


I don't see why a companion would lose its tricks, realistically or in mechanically. Nowhere does it say a companion starts play with the tricks, so i assume they are taught. in that case, there is no difference between teaching a companion and teaching a pet except the +4 bonus to handle.


vash wrote:
I don't see why a companion would lose its tricks, realistically or in mechanically. Nowhere does it say a companion starts play with the tricks, so i assume they are taught. in that case, there is no difference between teaching a companion and teaching a pet except the +4 bonus to handle.

"Bonus Tricks: The value given in this column is the total number of “bonus” tricks that the animal knows in addition to any that the druid might choose to teach it (see the Handle Animal skill for more details on how to teach an animal tricks). These bonus tricks don't require any training time or Handle Animal checks, and they don't count against the normal limit of tricks known by the animal. The druid selects these bonus tricks, and once selected, they can't be changed."

Yes, the companion more or less starts play with these tricks. They're something special the companion gets because it's a druid's animal companion. They should go away when it reverts back to a regular animal. The extra abilities and knowledge fade until they're a half-remembered memory at best.

Sovereign Court

"If a druid releases
her companion from service, she may gain a new one by
performing a ceremony requiring 24 uninterrupted hours
of prayer in the environment where the new companion
typically lives. This ceremony can also replace an animal
companion that has perished."

The above sentence seems to imply that the original critter is gone. Imagine a 20th level druid that would, say, dismiss a companion every 48 hours. He could generate over 180 high HD animals per year (let's say, owls). He would tip the balance of nature as all the owls in the area would start owning all local lions and tigers, etc... and thus he would lose all his powers from his deity!

Dark Archive

I saw the topic and the first thought was, "Well how is keeping non druids as pets different than keeping druids as pets?"


Happler wrote:
I saw the topic and the first thought was, "Well how is keeping non druids as pets different than keeping druids as pets?"

I like the way you think.


Purple Dragon Knight wrote:


The above sentence seems to imply that the original critter is gone. Imagine a 20th level druid that would, say, dismiss a companion every 48 hours. He could generate over 180 high HD animals per year (let's say, owls). He would tip the balance of nature as all the owls in the area would start owning all local lions and tigers, etc... and thus he would lose all his powers from his deity!

They're not gone. They're just no longer animal companions, and thus unlearn all their animal companionly abilities.

Otherwise, some ruthless evil predator deity would have abused this one millennia ago. Maybe that's how Thassalion really fell - the StarStone thing is just their cover story.

"Karzoug, how do you feel about your empire's demise at the paws of super-powered death squirrels created by the Verdant League?"
"Ah §O$%)(=)(=""§"§$%()$/=?!!!!"


vash wrote:
are there any rules for having a pet that's not an animal companion? if a ranger gets a new animal companion, can they keep the old one as a pet

You can keep your old companion as a pet. It's just not an Animal Companion anymore, it a regular animal of it's type. So it loses all it's HD, Feats, skills, abilities, stat increases, etc. it got from being an animal companion, keeping only it's original stats i.e. the stats from the Bestiary.


vash wrote:
are there any rules for having a pet that's not an animal companion? if a ranger gets a new animal companion, can they keep the old one as a pet

If its just a second pet or animal companion that your looking for. Super Genius Games has a guide. Feats of Spellcasters with a feat called Second Bond.

Second Bond
Your strong mystic ties allow you to make a second
occult bond.
Prerequisite: Arcane bond, divine bond, hunter’s
bond, or nature bond; character level 5.
Benefit: You may take an additional bond of the
ability that qualified you for this feat. You may select the
same bond you already have, or take a new bond. Any
bond you take must be one available to your class. Your
effective class level for purposes of your second bond is
your actual class level –3.

If the second animal companion is all you want this will do it. There is a second feat in the guide called Improved Bond that will remove the -3 if you so wished. Hope this helps

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Nondruid pets All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.