Grapple and forced teleport


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

I came across a situation where we had a demon grapple one of the players and then next round would teleport with that PC and drop him from a great height.
Now the question was raised why would the PC not get a saving throw vs the Teleport? I personally think that since the PC was grappled he would be forced to teleport with the demon. I am wondering if anyone can tell me the correct ruling on this issue.

Thanks.


Which demon was this?

I ask, because when I scan through the Bestiary, they all have the ability to cast "Greater Teleport (self plus 50 lbs. of objects only)".

Unless the PC was a 50 pound object, the demon couldn't teleport him.

Further, when I read the actual Teleport and Greater Teleport spells, they refer to "willing subjects". Even without the 50-pound restriction, a demon could only teleport a PC if that PC is willing.

Is there some demon with a different version of Teleport that I'm unaware of?

RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, 2011 Top 32, 2012 Top 4

DM_Blake wrote:


Is there some demon with a different version of Teleport that I'm unaware of?

Blake's right. All of the demons in the Bestiary can only teleport themselves plus 50 lbs of non-living gear.

Perhaps Murgos is referring to the bar-lgura from 3.5E and it's abduction ability, though that demon hasn't been statted for Pathfinder yet as far as I know.


in any case, there should be a will save.
A fun fact: You can teleport out of your clothes.


Blake´s right.
I guess the PC´s GEAR should get a Save if the demon tries to grab it and teleport away.

Dark Archive

Tom Qadim wrote:
DM_Blake wrote:


Is there some demon with a different version of Teleport that I'm unaware of?

Blake's right. All of the demons in the Bestiary can only teleport themselves plus 50 lbs of non-living gear.

Perhaps Murgos is referring to the bar-lgura from 3.5E and it's abduction ability, though that demon hasn't been statted for Pathfinder yet as far as I know.

"Unlike most tanar'ri, a bar-lgura

can use greater teleport to transport other
creatures. It can bring up to one
Large or two Medium or smaller
creatures with it each time
it teleports. It can teleport
unwilling targets as well,
although an unwilling victim
can attempt a DC 18
Will save to resist being
transported. The save DC
is Charisma-based."

that creature allows a will save to not teleport.

yes, a pc should get a save vs teleport

RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, 2011 Top 32, 2012 Top 4

Yes, a Will save should be allowed. But, keep in mind this is a D&D 3.5E rule and not a Pathfinder rpg rule. I wouldn't allow any of the Bestiary demons to do this since their monster descriptions specifiy they can only teleport themselves plus 50 lbs of gear.


SLA's are subject to interruption. Casting whilst in a grapple is usually a difficult proposition (depending upon the target). This should have made the demon in question roll for concentration.

However, the interruption doesn't matter because demons cant force teleport anyone (as already discussed). Sounds to me like a cranky GM just wanted to off someone. I know what that feels like. It's all too easy to feel like you're losing the game when your monsters keep dying. It's a trap. Just my 2 cp.


Senevri wrote:


A fun fact: You can teleport out of your clothes.

Of course.

It's a lot harder to teleport into your clothes, though.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Thank you for you responses, sorry haven't been on in a couple weeks.

And yes the demon is a Bar-Lgura. It is in the 3.5 Ravenloft adventure that I have been updating to PF.

It states in the adventure that "If the Bar-Lguras succesfully grapple and pins a PC, it uses its greater teleport ability to appear 2000 feet above the castle, drops the PC(falling damage 20d6), and then return a round later." OUCH! But since I hadn't seen anyhting in PF I wanted some insight. This has been very helpful.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grapple and forced teleport All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.