Unusual Full Attack Action Situation...


Rules Questions


OK... I know I using some whacky Eberron stuff in this example, but bear with me:

A Warforged armed with an Armbow (+2 Repeating Light Crossbow that can be fired with one hand with no penalty and reloading is a free action). Is in melee with something. Can said creature use a full attack action to slam the target in melee (at -5 for using a natural attack in combination with a weapon attack in a full attack action), 5' step back and fire off a full attack's worth of bolts with its Armbow? There has to be some other situations where combining a natural melee attack with a 5' step and continue with ranged attacks might come up.

Any thoughts?

Liberty's Edge

I don't know about natural attacks in combination but monks can do this quite frequently.

Flurry of blows unarmed strike, 5 foot step, shuriken, shuriken, shuriken, shuriken, etc.

If you are asking if it is possible, then the answer is yes.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

My understanding is yes, if you have natural attacks you can add them to a full attack routine at a -5 penalty for being secondary attacks. So yeah, you could natural attack, 5-foot back, and fling shuriken or w/e. Just like a fighter with Quick Draw can easily hit someone with his sword, five foot back, and finish his full attack routine firing his longbow.


Tatterdash wrote:

OK... I know I using some whacky Eberron stuff in this example, but bear with me:

A Warforged armed with an Armbow (+2 Repeating Light Crossbow that can be fired with one hand with no penalty and reloading is a free action). Is in melee with something. Can said creature use a full attack action to slam the target in melee (at -5 for using a natural attack in combination with a weapon attack in a full attack action), 5' step back and fire off a full attack's worth of bolts with its Armbow? There has to be some other situations where combining a natural melee attack with a 5' step and continue with ranged attacks might come up.

Any thoughts?

Warforged IIRC use both arms to slam. If you use need both arms to slam then you can't use that arm for anything else. Other creatures that have slam attacks, even though they normally slam with one arm can't use that arm for anything else for that round.


wraithstrike wrote:


Warforged IIRC use both arms to slam. If you use need both arms to slam then you can't use that arm for anything else. Other creatures that have slam attacks, even though they normally slam with one arm can't use that arm for anything else for that round.

Never heard of that, doesn't really make sense for a battlefist (although I must say, some of the Warforged Components are a little vague rule-wise).

Technically it doesn't really say a slam is done with a fist anyways, a slam does add 1 1/2 Str bonus, but not if you use it at -5 as a secondary attack. So if you want to do better damage, it's better to slam as a primary attack. Just the idea of slamming and then moving away and shooting is cool.


As Wraithstrike said, if you use your natural attack as part of a full attack action, you can no longer use that limb for any form of attack as a part of that full attack action.


Brogue The Rogue wrote:
As Wraithstrike said, if you use your natural attack as part of a full attack action, you can no longer use that limb for any form of attack as a part of that full attack action.

I see, so said warforged would have to have "2 slams" as natural attacks to do said attack routine? A bite would work better I guess...


The main problem here is it a little vague as to what limb a 'slam' is delivered with...

Liberty's Edge

Tatterdash wrote:

The main problem here is it a little vague as to what limb a 'slam' is delivered with...

There are no rules dictating right or left handed dominance. This would only make things more complicated than they need to be.

That being said you should be able to do a slam attack as a "one handed" attack and only apply 1x strength. If you use both arms then you would be able to apply that 1.5x strength that is typically used for (fittingly so) 2 handed weapons.

=D


MaxAstro wrote:
My understanding is yes, if you have natural attacks you can add them to a full attack routine at a -5 penalty for being secondary attacks. So yeah, you could natural attack, 5-foot back, and fling shuriken or w/e. Just like a fighter with Quick Draw can easily hit someone with his sword, five foot back, and finish his full attack routine firing his longbow.

Holy crap...have I been ignorant of this all along?

Since when can you attack, take a 5' step and continue your full attack? Is there a particular page in the Core book that points this out?

Liberty's Edge

Windquake wrote:
MaxAstro wrote:
My understanding is yes, if you have natural attacks you can add them to a full attack routine at a -5 penalty for being secondary attacks. So yeah, you could natural attack, 5-foot back, and fling shuriken or w/e. Just like a fighter with Quick Draw can easily hit someone with his sword, five foot back, and finish his full attack routine firing his longbow.

Holy crap...have I been ignorant of this all along?

Since when can you attack, take a 5' step and continue your full attack? Is there a particular page in the Core book that points this out?

Page 189 in the 5 foot step rules section

You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your
other actions in the round.


I like the cut of your jib!


Themetricsystem wrote:
Windquake wrote:

Holy crap...have I been ignorant of this all along?

Since when can you attack, take a 5' step and continue your full attack? Is there a particular page in the Core book that points this out?

Page 189 in the 5 foot step rules section

You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your
other actions in the round.

Well, I guess it helps if you read the book on occasion, eh?

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Windquake wrote:
Themetricsystem wrote:
Windquake wrote:

Holy crap...have I been ignorant of this all along?

Since when can you attack, take a 5' step and continue your full attack? Is there a particular page in the Core book that points this out?

Page 189 in the 5 foot step rules section

You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your
other actions in the round.

Well, I guess it helps if you read the book on occasion, eh?

Don't feel bad, I happened upon that rule few months ago after all those years of ignorance :)

Sovereign Court

Yeah I constantly tell my Players to read a section of their rules over again every few months just to be up on everything. I think I re-read the combat chapter every month and it seems I always learn something new!

--Vrocket Surgery

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Unusual Full Attack Action Situation... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions