| DM_Blake |
The touch AC for the inside of a creature is something like 10+ 1/2 its natural armor score (round down).
Do you have a cite for that?
I ask because that is the normal AC for the inside of a creature. Touch attacks ignore natural armor, so I would expect it gets no natural AC added to its internal touch AC. Which would just leave a touch AC of 10. Size and DEX modifiers don't apply inside, so that leaves just a 10 AC for touch attacks. Unless I've missed a rule somewhere.
However, that is not what the OP even asked.
I am not aware of any special Saving Throw rules for internal attacks. So until I find such rules, my assumption is that the RAW doesn't care whether your bomb goes off in its belly or on its skin, the Saving Throw is exactly the same.
Now, you don't get DEX mods for your AC against attacks made by creatures in your belly, so maybe we could say you don't get DEX mods for Reflex Saves either, but I don't see that in the RAW so it seems like a houserule to me.
Or we could say there is no save against internal attacks because they cannot miss and cannot fail to do their damage to the inside of the belly. Houserule, of course, but one that kinda makes sense.
Or we could go so far as to say that explosions inside the belly do extra damage because the blast is contained (hold a firecracker in your open hand, you get burned, but close your fist around that firecracker and you lose fingers because you've contained the blast - no, don't try this at home; just take my word for it). So arguably, from a POV of realism, an explosion in the belly might automatically crit for x2 damage.
If we go that far, then we also must assume that the bomber cannot avoid the blast either, naturally, since he's contained inside the same belly. Could get ugly.
All of which is houserules. AFAIK, the save is the same inside as it is outside.
cfalcon
|
I don't believe it auto fails a saving throw however...
The touch AC?
A bomb can miss from inside the creature? I don't even know how to describe that. I doubt you'd have to make an attack roll if it ate the bomb (if you are doing something odd like throwing it down the throat, ask your GM, of course).
I don't believe that touch AC involves natural armor in any event.
cfalcon
|
Yea, I seriously doubt there would be an attack roll involved if a creature was dumb enough to eat the bombs. That's like asking what you have to roll to hit if some dude swallows your pack of +1 shuriken- at the very least, you would just roll damage.
As far as the reflex save goes, I still strongly suspect that it gets one by the rules. The more amusing part would be if it had evasion and took no damage.
If I were running, I'd simply say roll damage and not allow it to save. The reflex save involves moving in such a way as to mitigate damage, and it just doesn't seem possible if YOU ATE A BOMB.
| DM_Blake |
im thinking of an alchemist with the delayed bomb discovery tricked a large monster into eating maybe a cow carcass with said bombs inside (the creature using swallow whole to eat the cow)
Nevertheless, I still cannot find any rules that adjust the Saving Throw based on the effect occurring internally. So, by RAW, the Saving Throw is exactly the same.
Unless I've missed it somewhere, maybe in a FAQ or Errata or some official post somewhere.