
John Kretzer |

Does anyone think that the skill check is a too low?
I mean if a caster keeps putting on rank in the Spellcraft every level...even with a 10 Int the person only fails on a 1 to make a item of equal Caster Level. With a Int of twelve they can't fail the roll period. I don't see how it is even possible to make a cursed item by mistake.
Can you even make a item that has a higher Caster Level than your own?
I am reading something wrong here? I like the crafting system but I think the DC should be higher. Like Caster level of the Item +10...
Anybody has a opinion?

DM_Blake |

Does anyone think that the skill check is a too low?
Yes. Lots of us do. Lots don't, too. It's been debated lots. I use the word 'lots' lots.
I mean if a caster keeps putting on rank in the Spellcraft every level...even with a 10 Int the person only fails on a 1 to make a item of equal Caster Level. With a Int of twelve they can't fail the roll period. I don't see how it is even possible to make a cursed item by mistake.
Correct. But he might want to rush the job, or he might skip a requirement or two, all of which can increase the DC.
Can you even make a item that has a higher Caster Level than your own?
Yes.
Caster level is not a requirement or a limit. There are a few special exceptions like weapons, armor Amulet of Mighty Fists, Bracers of Armor), but the general rule is that CL is only a requirement if it is actually listed in the Requirements line of the item's description.
Official cite: courtesy of Sean K. Reynolds.
I am reading something wrong here? I like the crafting system but I think the DC should be higher. Like Caster level of the Item +10...
Anybody has a opinion?
I tend to agree. In fact, under the crafting feats themselves, that's exactly what it says, DC = CL + 10. Jason Bulmahn once posted that the feats are wrong and the item creation rules (DC = CL +5) are correct, but he also said he'd be reviewing that. I haven't seen any further official word on the subject.
I don't mind the existing rules, as long as crafters cannot take-10. Sure, it means they really only fail if they cut corners or craft stuff way over their heads. But I am OK with that - no player wants to spend all that gold and then spend days, weeks, or even months, only to blow a roll and have it all be wasted.
However, the RAW allows taking-10. So nobody ever rolls a 1. Or a 2. Or even a 9. They do the math and figure out how many requirements they can skip and still succeed with a 10, then they create the item with no chance of failure by Taking-10. Perfectly allowed by the RAW.
Combining the really low DC and the Take-10 rule seems a bit too much to me. IMO, it should be one or the other but not both.

Grifter |

I'm resurrecting this thread because I have a questions regarding level restrictions and crafting.
The rules for crafting state:
"Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed). The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites."
The rules for creation of magic weapons state:
Creating a magic weapon has a special prerequisite: The creator's caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the weapon. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met. A magic weapon must have at least a +1 enhancement bonus to have any melee or ranged special weapon abilities
**So does this mean that a crafter could ignore the level restriction for a total of +5 to the dc and craft a +5 weapon at lv 5, assuming he had the money?
Also the rules don’t place any level requirement on crafting wondrous items with stat enhancement. So can I craft a belt of giant strength +6 at lv 3?
**Please skip all the answers about how there shouldn't be that amount of money in the game at low levels or how you would have one huge item and a gimped party. I just really need the RAW, thank you.**

Protoman |

Crafting and Bypassing Requirements: What crafting requirements can you bypass by adding +5 to the DC of your Spellcraft check?
As presented on page 549 of the Core Rulebook, there are no limitations other than (1) you have to have the item creation feat, and (2) you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites. So racial requirements, specific spell requirements, math requirements (such as "caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus"), and so on, are all subject to the +5 DC rule.
—Pathfinder Design Team, 02/21/13
So yes, you can craft a +5 weapon at level 5 if you have the money, time, and can make the skill check.

Grifter |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Crafting and Bypassing Requirements: What crafting requirements can you bypass by adding +5 to the DC of your Spellcraft check?
As presented on page 549 of the Core Rulebook, there are no limitations other than (1) you have to have the item creation feat, and (2) you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites. So racial requirements, specific spell requirements, math requirements (such as "caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus"), and so on, are all subject to the +5 DC rule.
—Pathfinder Design Team, 02/21/13
So yes, you can craft a +5 weapon at level 5 if you have the money, time, and can make the skill check.
I appreciate, group has been limiting itself for some time.