Summoner / Eidolon question question


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

I asked this in another forum and was requested I bring it to the APG discussion page, but it's being ignored there so I'm asking here instead.

I was wondering, with the changes made to Summoner and how the Eidolon and Summon Monster SLA works now... would that make Augment Summoning now work on the Eidolon? I have one, and theres a couple other players in my local group with Summoners.

"Drawing upon this ability uses up the same power as the summoner uses to call his eidolon. As a result, he can only use this ability when his eidolon is not summoned."

If Augment Summoning works on the Summon Monster SLA then the way this reads, it should also work on the Eidolon no matter if it's summoned via the ritual or the 2nd level spell. Conversely, if Augment Summoning does NOT work on the eidolon, then by extension it should also not work on the Summon Monster SLA since both use the same power and source.

Can anyone clear this up?


Fluff text is irrelevant to rules.

Augment Summoning works on the summon monster SLAs (and, amusingly, the summon Eidolon spell) because the rules text of Augment Summoning says it only boosts creatures summoned with a summon spell. The SLAs count because SLAs that are based off spells count as those spells for all purposes except for being componentless; thus, they count as being actual summon monster spells for the purposes of Augment Summoning.

An Eidolon summoned through the class ability is isn't summoned via a summon spell, but rather via a Supernatural Ability ritual.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

+1 to Zurai.

And it does bring up the oddity that now since you can summon your Eidolon via the Summon Eidolon spell, now there is a way to grant him the Augment Summoning buffs.

I'm not sure if this was intentional, or an oversight. While I would normally never take that spell with a summoner that didn't have some desperate need for it, its ability to grant Augment Summoning bonuses definitely makes me think a Wand of Summon Eidolon is a good investment.

Which raises the question, does Augment Summoning work with a Wand? The text of the feat is fuzzy, it just says any creature you conjure with any summon spell. Unlike some other feats, it does not explicity mention it must be a spell you cast. Then again, maybe I'm splitting hairs. This might be FAQ worthy.


The Black Bard wrote:
think a Wand of Summon Eidolon is a good investment.

The only problem with a wand (or staff) of summon Eidolon is that you must know the spell, or know someone who knows the spell, in order to create one, and buying one is going to be rough in most cases, I'd think.

Shadow Lodge

Zurai wrote:
The Black Bard wrote:
think a Wand of Summon Eidolon is a good investment.
The only problem with a wand (or staff) of summon Eidolon is that you must know the spell, or know someone who knows the spell, in order to create one, and buying one is going to be rough in most cases, I'd think.

Well, it all really depends on your GM and how generous s/he is...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summoner / Eidolon question question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions