Alchemists and staffs (crafting / recharging)


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Alchemists can use spell trigger items as long as the spell is on their list so they can clearly use staffs with the appropriate spells. Can they recharge them?

staff rules wrote:
Each morning, when a spellcaster prepares spells or regains spell slots, he can also imbue one staff with a portion of his power so long as one or more of the spells cast by the staff is on his spell list and he is capable of casting at least one of the spells.

Since alchemists aren't spellcasters I guess they are screwed?

Can an alchemist work with a wizard and craft a staff with alchemist only 'spells' on it?


0gre wrote:

Alchemists can use spell trigger items as long as the spell is on their list so they can clearly use staffs with the appropriate spells. Can they recharge them?

staff rules wrote:
Each morning, when a spellcaster prepares spells or regains spell slots, he can also imbue one staff with a portion of his power so long as one or more of the spells cast by the staff is on his spell list and he is capable of casting at least one of the spells.

Since alchemists aren't spellcasters I guess they are screwed?

Can an alchemist work with a wizard and craft a staff with alchemist only 'spells' on it?

considering alchemist are described as imbuing extracts with some of thier own magical energy and that the extracts become non functional outside thier possesion I'd acutally allow them to recharge staffs if they have the appropriate spell on thier list

recharging is all about the transfer of energies

even more so becuase alchemists can make extracts using a wizards spell book

brew potion infuses a potion with magical energy and no distincition is made between alchemists crafted potions and wizard crafted potions

although this is a way to give an alchemists access to some of the wizards area control and blast spells , you can only recharge 1 charge per day so long term only use 1 charge per day and even then only a staff with 6th level or lower spells since you must have a slot of the highest level available to recharge

Shadow Lodge

I don't think it gets them access to any additional spells:

Quote:
No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell.

My understanding is they have to know how to cast the spell to use it out of the staff. Regardless, I'm more thinking about the possibility of using it to cast things on the alchemists list like haste so he can cast it on the group.

As for recharging goes, this whole 'not-a-caster' thing is a little strange. I certainly wouldn't mind an alchemist charging it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemists and staffs (crafting / recharging) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions