Baleful polymorph spell and wind walk


Rules Questions


.
.
A PC who has the benefit of a wind walk spell on them but was currently in their normal humanoid form failed their save on a Baleful Polymorph spell.

The PC's new form is a rabbit (poor choice by me. it should have been a turtle, anyway). The PC did make their will save to keep their mind.

So, my question is, is the wind walk spell still in effect?

The core book says that: "Any polymorph effects on the target are automatically dispelled when a target fails to resist the effects of baleful polymorph, and as long as baleful polymorph remains in effect, the target cannot use other polymorph spells or effects to assume a new form. Incorporeal or gaseous creatures are immune to baleful polymorph, and a creature with the shapechanger subtype can revert to its natural form as a standard action."

Wind walk is not technically a "polymorph" effect but it is a transmutation spell (same school as baleful polymorph).

Would you qualify wind walk as a polymorph effect that is automatically dispelled by baleful polymorph?

Or since the PC retains their mind, can they now spend five rounds to turn back into gaseous form?


i think the rabbit should be able to run like the wind. Wind walk should continue to operate as it isnt a polymorph spell.

Shadow Lodge Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 8

Bloodwort wrote:

.

.
A PC who has the benefit of a wind walk spell on them but was currently in their normal humanoid form failed their save on a Baleful Polymorph spell.

The PC's new form is a rabbit (poor choice by me. it should have been a turtle, anyway). The PC did make their will save to keep their mind.

So, my question is, is the wind walk spell still in effect?

The core book says that: "Any polymorph effects on the target are automatically dispelled when a target fails to resist the effects of baleful polymorph, and as long as baleful polymorph remains in effect, the target cannot use other polymorph spells or effects to assume a new form. Incorporeal or gaseous creatures are immune to baleful polymorph, and a creature with the shapechanger subtype can revert to its natural form as a standard action."

Wind walk is not technically a "polymorph" effect but it is a transmutation spell (same school as baleful polymorph).

Would you qualify wind walk as a polymorph effect that is automatically dispelled by baleful polymorph?

Or since the PC retains their mind, can they now spend five rounds to turn back into gaseous form?

Wind Walk definitely doesn't get dispelled, because while it's a transmutation spell, it lacks the (polymorph) tag, and so is not a polymorph spell.

As to what happens when the rabbit goes gaseous, I'd probably rule that the effects of Baleful Polymorph are merely suppressed while in the gaseous state, rather than dispelled (otherwise I think you could get rid of Baleful Polymorph simply by hitting someone with a Gaseous Form spell, and that seems a bit cheesy to me).

So yeah, he can float away just fine, but once he returns to corporeal form, he returns as a rabbit.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Baleful polymorph spell and wind walk All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions