Outflank Feat


Rules Questions


Used this feat today for the first time granted by a Cavalier to other party members.

Anyhow While having an Orc flanked with our level 1 party, one Person Crit which i understand Triggers an Attack of oportunity. Then the Person who recved the AOO also Crit, Triggering the Origonal person to get a Crit

so Rogue Crits
Cavalier Gets AOO and then Crits
Rogue gets an AOO.

was this done right? The orc basically imploded :P


Mojorat wrote:

Used this feat today for the first time granted by a Cavalier to other party members.

Anyhow While having an Orc flanked with our level 1 party, one Person Crit which i understand Triggers an Attack of oportunity. Then the Person who recved the AOO also Crit, Triggering the Origonal person to get a Crit

so Rogue Crits
Cavalier Gets AOO and then Crits
Rogue gets an AOO.

was this done right? The orc basically imploded :P

Yea it seems to be so, one thing I dislike about PRPG sofar is the way they handle crits, as evident in this feat and in the crit chain feats, having a high crit range weapon is getting so much better than a crit/x3 weapon.


Dunno This is the First time we have tried the teamwork stuff. i thught it would be a fun group Feat to use with Tactition. Generally speaking with our group no one has done a crit focused uuid so i couldnt say what te Crit feats ar elike etc.

Liberty's Edge

I don't know if there is anything from the high ups but for simplicity sake I rule that an AoO cannot trigger another AoO. For instance a player makes a disarm with their AoO, they don't have the feat for it, normally this would trigger an AoO from the original target, and if they choose to take it and use another maneuver that they do not have the requisite feat for.... you can see where this is going.


Themetricsystem wrote:

I don't know if there is anything from the high ups but for simplicity sake I rule that an AoO cannot trigger another AoO. For instance a player makes a disarm with their AoO, they don't have the feat for it, normally this would trigger an AoO from the original target, and if they choose to take it and use another maneuver that they do not have the requisite feat for.... you can see where this is going.

Just allow for a single AoO from one creature, I see no reason for two different creatures not getting the AoO.

The same creature just doesn't get another AoO before he completes his first one.

Liberty's Edge

Remco Sommeling wrote:

Just allow for a single AoO from one creature, I see no reason for two different creatures not getting the AoO.

The same creature just doesn't get another AoO before he completes his first one.

See I disagree mainly due to the fact that the AoO order of operations makes it so the attack goes off BEFORE the action that triggers it, so allowing this would create a situation where the following would occur.

1) Move action to get into place.
2) Attack of opportunity from the person who's turn it is, Triggered by (Step #3) the flanking ally's critical.
3) Attack of opportunity from said ally, triggered by (Step #4) you critically hitting.
4) The actual regular attack action (Which Crits) as per normal during your turn taking your standard action.
5)Whatever else you want/can do turning your turn.

It just doesn't make any sense.


Themetricsystem wrote:
Remco Sommeling wrote:

Just allow for a single AoO from one creature, I see no reason for two different creatures not getting the AoO.

The same creature just doesn't get another AoO before he completes his first one.

See I disagree mainly due to the fact that the AoO order of operations makes it so the attack goes off BEFORE the action that triggers it, so allowing this would create a situation where the following would occur.

1) Move action to get into place.
2) Attack of opportunity from the person who's turn it is, Triggered by (Step #3) the flanking ally's critical.
3) Attack of opportunity from said ally, triggered by (Step #4) you critically hitting.
4) The actual regular attack action (Which Crits) as per normal during your turn taking your standard action.
5)Whatever else you want/can do turning your turn.

It just doesn't make any sense.

Usually an AoO interrupts the flow of battle, however usually thast only happens when moving or attempting a reckless action, this is neither, but rather a specific feat trumping the general rule.

In this case the AoO happens when the opponent is critically hit, not before he is attacked, the attack has already happened so :

1) move action to get into place
2) the regular attack critting
3) your ally attacking and critting with an AoO
4) you attacking with an AoO

In all of those cases these attacks are resolved one after another.

Liberty's Edge

Remco Sommeling wrote:

Usually an AoO interrupts the flow of battle, however usually thast only happens when moving or attempting a reckless action, this is neither, but rather a specific feat trumping the general rule.

In this case the AoO happens when the opponent is critically hit, not before he is attacked, the attack has already happened so :

1) move action to get into place
2) the regular attack critting
3) your ally attacking and critting with an AoO
4) you attacking with an AoO

In all of those cases these attacks are resolved one after another.

I am inclined to disagree unless word comes down official. It doesn't state specifically state the attack occurs afterward, and would otherwise be identical to any other AoO. In this case the PC's simply treat the conditions that the enemy is in just prior to a critical hit as opening themselves up for an AoO, much like how in regular circumstances drinking a potion provokes the AoO. The PC's are more greatly attuned to the flinches and the like of an enemy and you have to treat the critical hit as having a neutral source, regardless of the fact that it was determined by a player rolling a die. The die roll is more so a measure of what HAPPENS when the player goes for the attack and how the creature reacts, as opposed to someone simply swinging at a immobile target.

In short AoO are given when a creatures defenses are lowered, in every case. The feat treats the state a creature is in just prior to a critical hit as having lowered defenses.

If you pull the order of operations rug out of AoO here, that opens to door to any number or words lawyering min/maxers to state their case that you can trip someone who is standing up from prone, grapple an opponent who is trying to grapple you, and hit someone who you are no longer threatening when they exit a square.


Mojorat wrote:

Used this feat today for the first time granted by a Cavalier to other party members.

Anyhow While having an Orc flanked with our level 1 party, one Person Crit which i understand Triggers an Attack of oportunity. Then the Person who recved the AOO also Crit, Triggering the Origonal person to get a Crit

so Rogue Crits
Cavalier Gets AOO and then Crits
Rogue gets an AOO.

was this done right? The orc basically imploded :P

A lvl 1 party should not have access to this feat as it has a pre req of +4 BaB


Wow i feel Stupid :P i didnt notice that when i was making my charactr. It was just for a one-shot game but if we play it again i'll fix it. Thanks for pointing that out.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Outflank Feat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions