Opening a GATE spell into magma or water?


Rules Questions


It seems to me that if you opened a Gate, per the 9th level spell, into magma or water you would find yourself under a deluge of either, respectively.

Yet I've never seen nor heard of this being done. Any experience with this? I'm running a red dragon sorcerer against my players this weekend and he has access to that spell and I don't see why he wouldn't employ the magma tactic, especially in a small space that would quickly fill up.

Thoughts?

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Cogmin wrote:

It seems to me that if you opened a Gate, per the 9th level spell, into magma or water you would find yourself under a deluge of either, respectively.

Yet I've never seen nor heard of this being done. Any experience with this? I'm running a red dragon sorcerer against my players this weekend and he has access to that spell and I don't see why he wouldn't employ the magma tactic, especially in a small space that would quickly fill up.

Thoughts?

While gate can be used to open portals to places like the Plane of Water or the Plane of Fire, it can't really be used to drain an ocean into a city or to create a giant flamethrower. Creatures can move through a gate, but that's about it. A gate to somewhere underwater would look like a vertical pool of water, like in "Prince of Darkness" or "Stargate." It wouldn't turn into a river or a geyser or something like that.

A portal that DOES function like that would make for a cool adventure hook, but that's what that would have to be; a unique portal or gate that was built specifically to be an adventure hook.

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2010 Top 32

Hmmm, that reminds me of something that happened last week. One of my players had a character underwater and he didn't want to open his Bag of Holding to put some loot in, in case it filled up with water.

Luckily I didn't have to go there, but ... would it suck in a load of water or just what the owner pushes in?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

This reminds me of the old days where someone would cast gate under the BBEG's feet in order to dump them into the negative energy plane, or worse, the positive energy plane.


I think in that case, carboundum, you would indeed have to fill up that bag. It says that the bag doesn't get any air unless opened (suffocation, etc.) so I would imagine that if air can pass through the opening that means other types of indiscriminate matter too.


Ravingdork wrote:
This reminds me of the old days where someone would cast gate under the BBEG's feet in order to dump them into the negative energy plane, or worse, the positive energy plane.

Exactamon! I was thinking to myself, "Self! Are you witnessing this thought with me? Gate can be used for various crazy and evil things. And guess what, self? You're a DM! Uh oh, I feel an evil laugh bubbling up from the deepness within."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Opening a GATE spell into magma or water? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions