Swapping out actions for swift actions? (Standard to swift? Move to swift?)


Rules Questions


Hi!
Another question for you guys. The rules in Pathfinder specifically mention that you can trade your standard action for a move action, but does it stop there? Can you trade your standard action for a swift action as well? Can you trade your move for a swift?


Caemos wrote:

Hi!

Another question for you guys. The rules in Pathfinder specifically mention that you can trade your standard action for a move action, but does it stop there? Can you trade your standard action for a swift action as well? Can you trade your move for a swift?

No, you can't. That wouldn't work well in 3.5e/Pathfinder as that would open the floodgates for all sorts of game-breaking phenomenon. It works in 4E, though, since that system was built from the ground up to work like that.


Razz is correct. The RAW doesn't support doing this.

That said, I houseruled it many years ago, and never had any problems with it.

The biggest issue was Quicken Spell, which allowed a spellcaster to cast a swift Quicken, a move Quicken, and a standard spell, all in the same round. That got to be a bit much. However, since two of those spells were puny low-level spells occupying a slot 4 levels higher, it wasn't too bad.

Until Metamagic Rods of Quicken. That let them get off three high-level spells in one round. That was houseruled away that there was no way to activate a metamagic rod twice in the same round (and holding two of them doesn't leave a free hand for casting the spell). Marilith spellcasters still rocked, though...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swapping out actions for swift actions? (Standard to swift? Move to swift?) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions