| That Guy With the Fox |
Grab states that it only works on creatures smaller than the monster. Normally, it doesn't provoke an Attack of Opportunity. Now, we had a monster recently as a medium creature with grab. Our party were medium sized creatures as well. That means the creature couldn't grapple us per the normal grab it has. Now, it tried to grapple us normally instead...but people were wondering if doing so would allow an Attack of Opportunity on the creature trying to grapple. Would it provoke?
richard develyn
|
Would it provoke?
I think it would do, yes, since AFAICS the Grab ability is all about holding on to something once you already have it, whereas Grapple includes getting hold of it in the first place.
What I don't understand, and what I would propose to change, is keeping a Grab (as opposed to a Grapple) as a Standard Action.
To take an extreme example, consider the Kraken. Although in one round it can grab 8 creatures in the next it has to let go of all but one of them, meaning that any sensible Kraken let's go of the lot and grabs them all again.
Which is ok as a way of working within the rules, but completely unrealistic.
I would suggest a rules change such that maintaining a grapple became the same sort of action as making the grapple was in the first place. When it's a grab, it's a free action, when it's a grapple, it's a standard action (promoted to Move action if you have Greater Grapple).
Richard