Half Dragon Bite


Rules Questions


So a half dragon's type becomes "Dragon".

Under Natural Attacks (p. 300 ish?) It states "Some creatures treat one or more of their attacks differently, such as dragons, which always receive 1-1/2 times their Strength bonus on damage rolls with their bite attack. These exceptions are noted in the creature's description."

Now that is an exception noted in the block of the dragon.

I assume this does not transfer over to "dragon" creatures as much as it applies to true dragons.

Thoughts?

Scarab Sages

Well, regarding the half-dragon, the template states that the two claw attacks and the bite attack are appropriate for the half-dragon's size. Since it doesn't note in the description of the template that the half-dragon gets that, I would assume it doesn't.

Also, the example given isn't applying a 1.5 str bonus to its listed bite attack.

I really would go by that line. If the template or ability doesn't explicitly mention granting that extra 1.5 damage, then the creature doesn't get it.


I assume it was not meant to be 1-1/2 times strength, applying it only to true dragons seems a fair assumption.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Half Dragon Bite All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.