Metamagic and slot


Rules Questions


I want to know a thing.
For a metamagic feat that made you consider your spell one slot higher so when you cast a lvl 2 spell with this metamagic, you consider it as a lvl 3 spell.
So in the following situation, your sorcerer casted ALL his lvl 2 spells, but he has a last slot for a lvl 3 spell, can he cast a spell lvl 2 under a metamagic effect (which would be considered as a lvl 3 spell) whereas he hasn't got any spell lvl 2 for this day (just because this spell would be considered as a lvl 3 spell)?


You mean, for example, if you're out of 2nd level slots but know scorching ray and have the still spell feat, can you cast a stilled scorching ray from a 3rd level slot? Yeah, you can.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

You can cast lower level spells in higher level slots regardless, so you don't have to take the full-round action to cast the spell with metamagic if you're a Sorcerer.


DrowVampyre wrote:
You mean, for example, if you're out of 2nd level slots but know scorching ray and have the still spell feat, can you cast a stilled scorching ray from a 3rd level slot? Yeah, you can.

That's what I mean! Thanks!


Paul Watson wrote:
You can cast lower level spells in higher level slots regardless, so you don't have to take the full-round action to cast the spell with metamagic if you're a Sorcerer.

That too, although when I've played sorcs I haven't really found myself using too many move actions...depends on how good at protecting you your party is, though.

Liberty's Edge

Yup, like Paul said, you don't even need the metamagic feat.

From the PRD, Magic, Spell Slots section:
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/magic.html

"A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Metamagic and slot All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions