| Cerealkiller |
On page 295 of the bestiary for adding racial HD on step 2. It says that when you increase/decrease the CR to use table 2-1. Now if I want to create a veariant monster like the tiger shark. Is says in the shark discription on page 247 take the base shark and add the giant template. The giant template list the fallowing changes. +1 CR, increase the size, +3 to Natural AC, increase the dice rolled by one step, +4 to Str and Con, -2 Dex. Now I have done all that. Does its HD go up by it con only via bonus hp or does it get the bonus hp from con and from the chart 2-1. Because the chart 2-1 says that the hit point change is 10 and to use the chart 1-5 on page 293 a d8 equals 4.5. So the shark has 4d8 would that give him 6d8 or 7d8 do you round up or down when changing the CR.
| Tanis |
This is what i thought were the modifiers as per Tables 2-2 & 2-3:
Large>Huge Str:+8; Dex:–2; Con:+4; NA:+3; AC/Attack:+1; CMB/CMD:+1.
The Strength score modifier from table 2-2 seems to be contradicted by the Rebuild Rules for a Giant template. Not sure about that, but i'd go with the large>huge modifiers.
As far as rounding up or down; always round down unless directed otherwise.
| Are |
The only thing that changes when it comes to dice rolled are its attack damage. Since a shark deals 1d8 damage with it's bite attack, this would become 2d6 instead.
The hit points are only affected by the +4 CON, which amounts to +2 hit points per HD.
Table 2-1 should not be used for applying templates, since it is for the "adding racial hit dice" part of the monster advancement rules.
Karui Kage
|
If applying the giant template to make the indicated new shark, you would not add any new HD. Creatures that do have their HD increased are indicated as such in a small table at the bottom, like the variant spiders. In the case of the shark, HD stays the same, you just apply whatever the simple template has. In this case, the size goes up, +4 Str/Con, -2 Dex, 1d8 bite becomes 2d6, +3 natural armor.
Simple :D
Laughing Goblin
|
The only thing that changes when it comes to dice rolled are its attack damage. Since a shark deals 1d8 damage with it's bite attack, this would become 2d6 instead.
The hit points are only affected by the +4 CON, which amounts to +2 hit points per HD.
Table 2-1 should not be used for applying templates, since it is for the "adding racial hit dice" part of the monster advancement rules.
This.
| Cerealkiller |
Are wrote:This.The only thing that changes when it comes to dice rolled are its attack damage. Since a shark deals 1d8 damage with it's bite attack, this would become 2d6 instead.
The hit points are only affected by the +4 CON, which amounts to +2 hit points per HD.
Table 2-1 should not be used for applying templates, since it is for the "adding racial hit dice" part of the monster advancement rules.
Thank you all for your input. The whole template thaing is a first for me. Thank you all for clarifying the rules.