Questions on oils as thrown weapons


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Potion/oils under magic items in the book states " Oils are similar to potions , except that oils are applied eternally rather than imbibed...It can duplicate the effect of a spell of up to 3rd level that has a casting time of less than 1 minute and effects one or more creatures.(core rules 1 pg 477)" So.. if we assume that oils and potions only differ in their means of delivery (imbibed/applied) then "Potions (oils?) are like spells cast upon the imbiber(target of the oil).... "The drinker of the potion is both the effective target and the caster of the effect(though the potion indicates caster level, the drinker still control the effect.) (core rule 1 pg.477)"

Then would the "drinker" or target of the oil if you will be the effective target?

If so can spells such as mirror image(core rules 1 pg. 314) with range personal be used as an oil?

IF so then the target would be whoever was "hit" by the oil if it were thrown?

Can oils be used as thrown weapons?

Would oils be considered splash weapons which "require no weapon proficiency so you don't take the -4 nonproficiency penalty? (core rules 1 pg 202)

How would splash be handled for oils of spells that are rays? example ray of frost (core rules 1 pg 330)

For those that produce cones? example color spray (core rules pg 256)

Most splash weapons (at least that I have seen) do a 1d6 damage on a direct hit. Would oils do that as well? Or maybe a 1d4 for being smaller (vials)?

If say a cure light wounds was used as an oil and thrown say against the party's paladin would he take damage from being hit before he was healed?

Would spells like produce flame (core 1 pg 326) burn for the length of their duration where the oil broke?

Am I missing anything else that I should have gotten?

Scarab Sages

I think because administering an oil to an unconscious (and thus helpless) creature is a full-round action that making an attack with an oil is downright impossible.

Not that its not a neat idea.

Liberty's Edge

Tom Baumbach wrote:

I think because administering an oil to an unconscious (and thus helpless) creature is a full-round action that making an attack with an oil is downright impossible.

Not that its not a neat idea.

PG 478 states "A character can carefully administer a potion to an unconscious creature as a full round action, trickling the liquid down the creatures throat." but an oil is applied externally therefore it shouldn't matter much whether the creature/target was conscious or not. Also a little further up on the same page it states ""drinking a potion or applying an oil is a standard action."

So...what you stated above doesn't appear to apply atleast from my understanding of the rules.

I am willing to be wrong though

Scarab Sages

advarial wrote:

So...what you stated above doesn't appear to apply atleast from my understanding of the rules.

I am willing to be wrong though

Last sentence on the potion page.

Liberty's Edge

Tom Baumbach wrote:
advarial wrote:

So...what you stated above doesn't appear to apply atleast from my understanding of the rules.

I am willing to be wrong though

Last sentence on the potion page.

ok so i stand corrected on the application of an oil to an unconscious creature. thanks for that clarification.

Drinking or applying a potion typically is a standard action when the target is not unconscious.

Scarab Sages

advarial wrote:
Drinking or applying a potion typically is a standard action when the target is not unconscious.

Assuming the target is the one doing to drinking/applying, yes. I posit that forcing a potion down someone's throat or dousing them with oil (enough to cause an effect) is impossible against an unwilling or non-helpless target, based on the difficulty of doing it to a helpless target.

Liberty's Edge

Tom Baumbach wrote:
advarial wrote:
Drinking or applying a potion typically is a standard action when the target is not unconscious.
Assuming the target is the one doing to drinking/applying, yes. I posit that forcing a potion down someone's throat or dousing them with oil (enough to cause an effect) is impossible against an unwilling or non-helpless target, based on the difficulty of doing it to a helpless target.

I wouldn't make it impossible. I think that I would make the thrower make a regular ranged attack instead of a ranged touch attack to hit. I might also make them role a d4+stregnth mod and have to do atleast 2 hp to the vial or it would land unbroken. (potion vials have 1 hardness + 1 hp per the book)


rules wrote:


Activation: Drinking a potion or applying an oil requires
no special skill. The user merely removes the stopper and
swallows the potion or smears on the oil.

Drinking a potion or using an oil is a standard action.

Just hitting a guy with the oil isn't enough to make it work, the rules say that you have to smear it over the user. That's why smearing an oil over an inconscious creature is a full round action, and not an attack (standard) action.

Oils were designed to be used with items (spells like greater magic weapon, etc..) If you want to attack with potions and make it a viable option you have to do some houseruling. I would try in the houserules subforum.

There isn't any potion or oil with personal range that can be crafted, the rules for potion crafting are the same rules used for oil crafting as both are part of the same group of magic items (potions).

Liberty's Edge

PathfinderEspañol wrote:
rules wrote:


Activation: Drinking a potion or applying an oil requires
no special skill. The user merely removes the stopper and
swallows the potion or smears on the oil.

Drinking a potion or using an oil is a standard action.

Just hitting a guy with the oil isn't enough to make it work, the rules say that you have to smear it over the user. That's why smearing an oil over an inconscious creature is a full round action, and not an attack (standard) action.

Oils were designed to be used with items (spells like greater magic weapon, etc..) If you want to attack with potions and make it a viable option you have to do some houseruling. I would try in the houserules subforum.

There isn't any potion or oil with personal range that can be crafted, the rules for potion crafting are the same rules used for oil crafting as both are part of the same group of magic items (potions).

That makes sense. I would still like the specific page in the core rules that states no personal ranged spell can be made into a potion. Can some one please provide the specific page #?

Sovereign Court

If you want to throw things you should really look at the Alchemist!!!

You also can't make potions or oils out of Personal Range Spells. This is located at the end of the Magic items chapter after the Tables with all the formulas under Creating Potions.

--Detroit Vrock City

Liberty's Edge

King of Vrock wrote:

If you want to throw things you should really look at the Alchemist!!!

You also can't make potions or oils out of Personal Range Spells. This is located at the end of the Magic items chapter after the Tables with all the formulas under Creating Potions.

--Detroit Vrock City

thank you for the info. I was able to find the specific page for that info due to what you told me. Just for a btw here is the page in the core rule book 1 ...pg. 551

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Questions on oils as thrown weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions