Water Elemental 'Drench' ability


Rules Questions


Water Elemental `Drench`:
The elemental's touch puts out non-magical flames of Large size or smaller. The creature can dispel magical fire it touches as dispel magic (caster level equals elemental's HD).

Is this a standard action? If not then can it be done as part of a move action? Could an elemental move over a non-magical fire to extinguish it as part of a move?

I summoned a Huge Elemental...why can it only extinguish fires that are large? Is this per round?

Shouldn't this ability be relative to the size of the elemental?

If a fire is larger than large, say a forest fire, can the Water Elemental use this ability each round or multiple times per round (i.e. as an attack) if its not a standard/move action?

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Drench is a standard action—the elemental has to touch the flame to put it out.

While it's possible to stat up a new monster elemental that can put out larger fires, the standard water elemental can only affect Large fires. It's not tied to the relative size of the elemental because doing so would have made the ability more complicated than it needs to be; by standardizing it, we take up less space in the text AND make it simpler to use.

An elemental could certainly use drench to put out a larger conflagaration one Large burning object at a time... but something as big as a forest fire would probably require a lot of elementals working together to put it out before it just did its thing anyway.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Water Elemental 'Drench' ability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions