Eidolon Questions


Rules Questions

The Exchange

I have a few questions about the Eidolon...

1) Is it possible to have multiple weapon fighting rather than multiattack(natural weapons only)? If not what kind of penalties would I be taking for using 3 weapons??

2) Can the eidolon speak? It has an intelligence of 7 and mine is trained in linguistics.

3) When using the hat of disguise, can a biped eidolon disguise itself into another humanoid form, say a human, and is its speech to sound like that human considered in the disguise check too?

The Exchange

JustinK wrote:

I have a few questions about the Eidolon...

1) Is it possible to have multiple weapon fighting rather than multiattack(natural weapons only)? If not what kind of penalties would I be taking for using 3 weapons??

2) Can the eidolon speak? It has an intelligence of 7 and mine is trained in linguistics.

3) When using the hat of disguise, can a biped eidolon disguise itself into another humanoid form, say a human, and is its speech to sound like that human considered in the disguise check too?

Justin, these are all questions that stem from the Advanced Player's Guide playtest and don't pertain directly to the Society, even though that's where you're using the Summoner class. You need to find the appropriate forum in which to post these questions.

Grand Lodge

I'm sure it will get moved to the appropriate forum...

can I add a question?

Can an Eidolon, or ANY pet for that matter, have a template applied to it?

Sovereign Court

Krome wrote:

I'm sure it will get moved to the appropriate forum...

can I add a question?

Can an Eidolon, or ANY pet for that matter, have a template applied to it?

That has been answered somewhere by Joshua in cohoots with Jason, and the answer is no!

Lantern Lodge

JustinK wrote:

I have a few questions about the Eidolon...

1) Is it possible to have multiple weapon fighting rather than multiattack(natural weapons only)? If not what kind of penalties would I be taking for using 3 weapons??

Doug's right and only your first question pertains to PFS. In the Bestiary it states that the feat Multi-Weapon Fighting replaces two-weapon fighting for creatures with 3 or more arms. However in PFS all feats from the Bestiary are not allowed.


Multi-Weapon fighting is allowed so long as your companion's creation guidelines specifically grant it. Bestiary feats are not allowed for general selection when a companion has a feat slot to spend.

Also, moving this to the appropriate forum.


My DM and I seem to disagree on an aspect of the Eidolon. Under Share Spells (Ex), where it says "A summoner
may cast spells on his eidolon even if the spells
normally do not affect creatures of the eidolon’s type
(outsider). Spells cast in this way must come from the
summoner spell list."

Now, I take this to mean that a summoner should be able to cast a spell like enlarge person on his eidolon even though it is not supposed to work on outsiders. My DM seems to think that because that sentence comes after the sentence "The summoner may cast a spell
with a target of “You” on his eidolon (as a spell with
a range of touch) instead of on himself." that the exception to creature type only works when casting a "You" target spell.

Is there anyway I can get an answer to this from someone on the Paizo payroll? Not that I don't value other board members opinions, I just think it'll take a Frost or Jacobs quote to convince my DM he's mistaken.

Unless of course I'm the one reading it wrong.


(Forums seem to have eaten my first post)

My DM and I seem to disagree on an aspect of the Eidolon. Under Share Spells (Ex), where it says "A summoner
may cast spells on his eidolon even if the spells
normally do not affect creatures of the eidolon’s type
(outsider). Spells cast in this way must come from the
summoner spell list."

Now, I take this to mean that a summoner should be able to cast a spell like enlarge person on his eidolon even though it is not supposed to work on outsiders. My DM seems to think that because that sentence comes after the sentence "The summoner may cast a spell
with a target of “You” on his eidolon (as a spell with
a range of touch) instead of on himself." that the exception to creature type only works when casting a "You" target spell.

Is there anyway I can get an answer to this from someone on the Paizo payroll? Not that I don't value other board members opinions, I just think it'll take a Frost or Jacobs quote to convince my DM he's mistaken.

Unless of course I'm the one reading it wrong.

Grand Lodge

Prince That Howls wrote:
Now, I take this to mean that a summoner should be able to cast a spell like enlarge person on his eidolon even though it is not supposed to work on outsiders. My DM seems to think that because that sentence comes after the sentence "The summoner may cast a spell with a target of “You” on his eidolon (as a spell with a range of touch) instead of on himself." that the exception to creature type only works when casting a "You" target spell.

Simple logic: There's no such thing as a personal spell (i.e. target "You") that has any kind of restriction on creature type, therefore the mentioning of creature type is to specifically allow "Person" spells cast by the summoner to work on his eidolon.

Grand Lodge

JustinK wrote:

2) Can the eidolon speak? It has an intelligence of 7 and mine is trained in linguistics.

3) When using the hat of disguise, can a biped eidolon disguise itself into another humanoid form, say a human, and is its speech to sound like that human considered in the disguise check too?

2) Yes, the eidolon can speak languages spoken by its master.

3) Sure. Since Disguise is charisma based, it's supposed to cover emulating looks, mannerisms, and speech. Just remember the penalties for different race/sex/size.


Gjorbjond wrote:
Prince That Howls wrote:
Now, I take this to mean that a summoner should be able to cast a spell like enlarge person on his eidolon even though it is not supposed to work on outsiders. My DM seems to think that because that sentence comes after the sentence "The summoner may cast a spell with a target of “You” on his eidolon (as a spell with a range of touch) instead of on himself." that the exception to creature type only works when casting a "You" target spell.

Simple logic: There's no such thing as a personal spell (i.e. target "You") that has any kind of restriction on creature type, therefore the mentioning of creature type is to specifically allow "Person" spells cast by the summoner to work on his eidolon.

Yeah, I know, I've tried arguing this (on behalf of another player who was playing a Summoner) yet my DM remains unconvinced.


Bump.


Gjorbjond wrote:
JustinK wrote:

3) When using the hat of disguise, can a biped eidolon disguise itself into another humanoid form, say a human, and is its speech to sound like that human considered in the disguise check too?

3) Sure. Since Disguise is charisma based, it's supposed to cover emulating looks, mannerisms, and speech. Just remember the penalties for different race/sex/size.

Actually, a similar situation occurred to the party of my players just yesterday - a Large four-armed, green-furred Biped Eidolon which had to camouflage himself with a Hat of Disguise.

Strictly reading the description of the item, he couldn't appear as a 'Large humanoid':

PRD->Magic Items->Wondrous Items:
"Hat of Disguise: (...) This apparently normal hat allows its wearer to alter her appearance as with a disguise self spell."

PRD->Spell Index:
"Disguise Self: (...) You make yourself—including clothing, armor, weapons, and equipment—look different. You can seem 1 foot shorter or taller, thin, fat, or in between. You cannot change your creature type (although you can appear as another subtype)."

Since an Eidolon is an Outsider, using such an item he can only change his appearance to match that of another Outsider (of any subtype, however). Now, if Iaman (the Summoner's Eidolon of my players' group) were a Medium Eidolon, he could have taken the appearance of an Aasimar or Tiefling (for example), but being a Large Eidolon, his choices were far more limited (and to avoid unnecessary questions, he opted for the form of a Large Earth Elemental - still suspicious, but less than his original aspect or that of a Cornugon, for example).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Eidolon Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.